You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Justification for 104 week Power Down

in #steem8 years ago

Firstly I wish to make known my reverence and veneration for Steemit ; herein has given me my own little pool of Stock Market type shares in Steem. Never did I dream of owning a shares portfolio and best of all it only cost me my free time , not hard cash : )

So with my devotions of loyalty out of the way. Why can we not have a different type of power down voting system ? Some persons somewhere decided upon 104 weeks = 2 years. Maybe this is for some unseen reason that could be advantageous to certain Steem holders but remains clouded and unseen by little fish like myself.

Why not have a purely random method that alters days per power down. Currently a power down takes 7 days (once per week) as part of the 104 power down cycle. Change it to a completely random model . . .

A coin toss ; nothing is more random than a coin toss , keep the computers and random generators out of it. If people are electing to power down if the coin shows TAILS the power down occurs 8 days from the last toss.

If the coin shows HEADS the power down occurs 4 days from the last toss. This makes the power down cash out function totally unable to be manipulated by anyone whether they be a minnow or a whale. The four or eight day power down cycle would not affect anything overly compared to the current system , but it would make even the current system more trusted.

People would not be able to cash out suddenly and affect the law of supply and demand to much , but also people would know that no one can predict with any certainty where the market would be aimed toward in 104 weeks. I myself like the power down , but I would prefer it over a year ; but obviously everyone has an opinion . . .

Using a coin would increase the novelty value and integrity belief that the system cannot be easily manipulated : )

/ hugz ; )

See you on the BlockChain : )

Sort:  

I am for giving whales with more than 1% in the system the option to powerdown immediately and sell without a minimum price everything... This way there would not be the continuous selling pressure for 2 years and everything had a clear sky from there on...

Bugger them, if you let the 1%+ sell immediately this lets them profit immediately; why not make them work and wait like the mere mortals have to.

If they sell out today you still have 9,999 other Steemians all powering down every week and selling something so the selling pressure is never quite relieved at all . . . Make the damn whales work for their shares like the rest of us ; lol : )

/ hugz ; )

I see 2 years of clouds hanging over steem... I prefer to have them away... and this way we could grab some really cheap ones... instead of buying at a marketcap at 100 million we could buy at a marketcap of 500,000... ;)

Well I agree with you , I see years of uncertainty ; but I just want a level playing field . . .

You probably understand all this crypto-stuff far better than a newbie like me. Six months ago I could not spell cryptocurrency , now I am a shareholder . . .

So maybe you know when and how to buy and sell this internet barter coin , little old me I am just along for the ride to see how it all turns out : )

May your investments follow your plans and more steem power or more gold to you , for me ; I am uncertain of my analysis of what occurred last week so I have no hope of predicting the future like a trader tries to do : )

/ hugz ; )

I am here for the journey ; I must travel along for the journey since I have absolutely no clue what the expected destination is likely to be : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63618.95
ETH 3421.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52