Traditional Social media is anything but social

in #steem5 years ago

I am still on traditional social media (only Facebook), and find myself using it less and less. One of the features I have found helpful in the past is the 'groups' feature which has been helpful. However, recently I posted an innocent question and got replies such as 'ask Google' and similiar non helpful answers.

Although this is nothing new it has gotten worse and the ammount of trolls has increased alot! Reading the comments on places like Youtube has become painful and alot of people are just downright mean and nasty.

pexels-photo-266246.jpeg

This is where Steem differs majorly, as it is incentivised and thus negativity and trolling wont earn any rewards or get you anywhere!! With the recent hardfork we are seeing more strategic use of flags, and I believe spamming is at an alltime low.

Additionally we are seeing tribes which over time be similar to Facebook groups, and a help on more niche topics. And then there is also the rabbit hole of Discord, which has many, many groups and helpful Steemians.

Overall Steem is moving in the right direction, and I love the changes from the hardfork - more manual curation and more engagement 😃😃.

Although I remain on Facebook (for now...), I feel it is losing the edge it once had and is now essentially just a dressed up marketing company...

Sort:  

dressed up marketing company

Is the perfect description for their platform and they're slowly doing it to Instagram and WhatsApp too. So glad I found steem when I did! More people are defecting every day and we need to be welcoming them with open arms

Yea me too! A big reason i havent left facebook is because of messenger. Hopefully one day steem has something similar...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97