You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: @ecotrain: Making voting bots great (again!?) with whitelisting and 11% ROI! Plus my opinions on why voting bots are a good thing for Steemit!

in #steem6 years ago

Bots having a whitelist is the future of the success of bots in my opinion - although I wonder whether other bots will follow suit? Whitelisting and checking blogs takes time, and time = money. However for the longterm success of Steemit it is in everyones interest to ensure more quality control of what is being upvoted by bots.

Maybe there could even be random checks of posts that are being bidded on - if they are pagarised or not up to a certain standard then the upvote could be declined and no upvote given - this might be to subjective though, but it would make people think more about what they are trying to buy votes for!

Sort:  

glad u agree! thank you for your comment!

My feeling on what would be BEST for Steemit to take things forward in a positive way is:

People with high voting power can delegate to one or even better, several 'new age bots' that whitelist (as well as curate manually! .. read on).. Delegators can choose bots that promote niche content.. which would give bots much more meaning.. like the ecoTrain bot.. That would be much more intersting than all bots promoting more or less the same content.

Since bots make money its not hard to have someone either employed or rewarded to keep checking on the whitelist.. and I'm sure the community can self regulate plagiarism and bad posts organically.. SINCe that isn't a consideration or requirement right now no one does it..

So it is my GREAT vision right now that this approach could lead steemit in the right direction.. and would not require changing the rules of the game to try to fix the problems (and create new ones) that we have with them now..e.g. by increasing curation rewards to incentify manual curation!

Those with most Steem Power have WAY too much upvote strength to curate by themselves and NEED others to help them.. By using voting bots they can relieve the burden of that by delegating to people/bots that they respect and entrust to do the right thing.. which is what I am basically doing..

In my view we can have a win-win-win situation because

  1. People who Use the bots get guaranteed 11% ROI so they hare happy
  2. People who delegate get great ROI and support good posts because they delegate to whitelisted bots.
  3. People who can't afford to or don't want to use bid bots can get rewards organically from the profits of the bot.. as I do with my manual curation..

So in a sense it can be something like a hybrid of what Curie does combined with bid votes. That is why I offer 65% ROI to delegators so that a significant amount of the profits go right back in to curating organically. In fact this approach will IMPROVE organic manual voting as it puts a lot more voting power back into the hands of bot owners who will also be curators.

I realise many people who have read my post really DON'T understand all that I have said.. or the power and potential of whitelisting.. @smartsteem get it, and I get it and right now we are the ONLY people doing this as far as I know..

With all the negativity around voting bots I HOPE I am able to get this message out.. that there is a way to make this system work so much better, .. but in my opinion the responsibility of doing that rests with delegators and bot owners and NOT the Steemit developers (@ned) .. I really believe in minimal rules and changes, and letting the community take things forward.

I DO believe in Steemit because it's full of amazing people.. and we have to be patient also and let it evolve.. IT takes TIME, and we have to just stay positive and see the AMAZING potential! Evolution takes time and can be ugly, but in the end can end up to be quite glorious!

Love the idea! It does currently seem that bot owners dont take the responsibility that they should be and its having a pretty big affect - the way I see it that if they dont put the effort in and Steem falls down (if quality of posts being upvoted get worse, and thus people dont join invest) then bot owners are partly to blame.

I agree that whales have to much SP to manually curate properly and should be delegating to those that they trust can curte well - @curie does a fantastic job!

I wish there were more people on Steemit who thought like you! There needs to be a change in mindset where people are thinking about the longterm success of Steemit rather than just what profit they will make in the next week/month - with the whitelist content quality on trendint etc will go up - which will lead to more potential users and investors which will increase the price of Steem - Happy days for everyone :)

SO happy you agree ;-) thanks for inspiring me to write this comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64008.01
ETH 3308.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93