You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grey Areas of STEEM : #1 Legitimate Self-Voting vs Abusive Self-Voting

in #steem7 years ago

Hey I wrote an article about this awhile ago.

My thoughts are that as a minnow it doesnt make to much of a difference whether you upvote your own content (I sometimes do) but I usually like to share around my upvotes with content I enjoy.

However as your upvote becomes worth more I think upvoting your own posts will obviously make them more visible which is a good thing (providing you are writing good content)

What I hate and disagree with is when people comment a meaningless comment on someones post and then upvotes their comment. Expecially if there upvote is worth a bit all it does is bring their meaningless comment to the top of the comments and push others further down the list

Sort:  

That's a really good piece. Sorry I missed it.

I agree with you on the meaningless comment. It's annoying. It was happening to me consistently and that was the initial catalyst for my war declaration.

Thanks! Good to share and discuss opinions :) Yeah I see it all the time. 'nice comment' and then the author has upvoted it for like $1... what a waste - it doesnt do anything to help or encourage minnows to grow - just lines their pockets

Use a bit of then vp to flag their comments. Maybe some Will improve over time.

Great idea. Its worth a try for sure

Well it's what I tried. First thing is always reply to the comment and give an explanation for why you are flagging. If you're lucky they might even read it and learn from it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57