You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another way of looking at discussion incentivization

in #steem8 years ago

For me personally I have installed the esteem app on my phone, each time I get a follow, mention, comment, and so on it chimes and I know to reply. Without the app refreshing your replies page accomplishes the same thing. I was excited to see the reward pool for comments because I know of one individual @arthuradamson who would greatly benefit from such a thing. His comments are as good or sometimes better than the actual post. It will be ironic if you do not see this I must say but I am curious if that is or is not being added as a feature.

Own-able tags sounds like a no go to me, whales would just by them all up with the intent to resell leaving everyone in a bidding war.

Sort:  

Whales want this platform so succeed so I think it's highly unlikely that they would just hoard all the tags only to sell them later. Some of that would happen, but there are lots of words in the world, they can't buy them all. There will be plenty of them left to normal users. And the tag won't become valuable just because of the name, the owner has to make an effort to get people to follow it. Worth of tag comes mostly from the amount of users who are following it, not from the name.

Without ownable tags/steemrooms, how would you exclude unwanted users from groups? I think exclusion is very much needed feature, groups can't function properly if anyone can join and do whatever they want.

I have always viewed hashtags as open and not able to be owned by anyone. We have seen this effect a few times when corporations use them and then society responds with their own version. A great example is what the NYPD tried to do and how it backfired. What your saying sounds a lot like how the DNS system is currently setup and I am not a fan. Currently in a udrp case for my company because of someone cyber squatting a branded URL of ours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60736.77
ETH 2370.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63