You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Past We Had Internet, Now We Have Steem

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

I think this situation is strange for sure. On one hand you have the media giants that are partaking in mass censorship of content they don’t like. On the other hand you have platforms like the Steem blockchain and it’s associated apps. There are lots of benefits to the platform but there is something insidious that has been itching at me. Perhaps the guide over to an immutable blockchain is by design. If you think about it, you can’t delete stuff from it and that’s a gold mine for data mining and governments. The positive aspect to that however is that we continue to expose and document their misdeeds and that too is immutable.
Just my thoughts!

Thanks @crypto.piotr for the discussion suggestion, I am enjoying the various comments.
Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hm... About the applications I didn't see that as a drawback, but the impossibility to delete something I think that could be a problematic, however, I don't see how that could be used against people, at least now. Maybe in the future that could be something very very problematic.

And I'm grateful that you accepted my invitation and joined our little discussion @cmplxty :)

Appreciate it.
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44