You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Dolphin cocoon project! Input and help wanted!

in #steem7 years ago

I agree entirely, but I think the issue is that steemit doesn't really do much to create and empower a "middle class." There's the rich whale accounts, there's the new users, and then there's the people that stick around long enough to not really be new users anymore. Most of my SP is actually used funding Minnow Support like many other dolphins. I actually powered down to be a minnow again because the illusion that dolphin status changed anything in the past was kind of a joke. Then again the same people making the same generic posts are getting tripple digit payouts every day because whale's are only voting the same accounts etc. I believe it's a great idea, I just don't know how much funding you'll be able to get for it since it's mostly dolphins funding the minnow support projects currently. The whales are mostly just selling votes and renting their SP.

Sort:  

And that is why it's time to change that! :D
I am going to try my up most best to get funding and the help I need because I think it's long overdue for the middle class support! I delegated power to minnow support as well because I think it's amazing to help nem members this way. And I will NOT take that back. When I set my mind to something I am going to work my ass off to get it done.
The funding/power might not be what I have in mind but at least I am creating a spot where the Dolphins will be seen. I am a firm believer that there MUST be at least one amazing whale who reads this and taps his or hers chin and takes the time to think about it for a while.... Then.... Magic happens.
I won't give up until I find that person.
And many smaller delegated powers also make a bigger stake. :D
Thank you so much for your input @clayboyn. Most appreciated <3

"I actually powered down to be a minnow again because the illusion that dolphin status changed anything in the past was kind of a joke."

You're better off being a minnow and rewarded with minnowcommunism (your posts are over-rewarded because minnow).

Attempt to move up and the cartel of whales keeps you out. Dolphins work way, way harder than minnows for lower compensation. I used to write daily posts far better than what get's Curied, and made a routine 10-14$, more than half of which was my and my girlfriend's votes.

There is no reason to hold Steem except to lose money or give money away. I too am powering down.

"The whales are mostly just selling votes and renting their SP."

Yes, and try doing this as a non-whale, you get witch-hunted. Don't vote the way people like? Witch-hunted. Vote for only a few authors? Witch-hunted.

Steem is full of SJW Robber Barons telling you what to do with what is yours:

https://steemit.com/steem/@lexiconical/code-is-law-only-when-i-want-otherwise-it-s-abuse-the-shaming-syndicate-of-steemit-our-own-brand-of-sjws-and-social-repression

This comment is exactly what I mean, but you disagreed with mine?

TLDR: Not disagreeing, having some sort of context confusion here.

No, I wasn't trying to disagree. I thought you were highlighting " who was running the show around Steemit".

It's Whales (the robber barons that run the culture) and minnows (agitating for and receiving minnow communism). Dolphins are the slave labor putting enough content onto the site to keep it from being tossed into the Buzzfeed bin. I totally see the desert Snekky is referring to above.

I'm thinking you may have meant who was running the show at MSP, maybe, but I'm still having trouble sussing out the context. If that's what you meant, yeah, most whales aren't doing a damn thing. Aside from Aggroed, Eturnerx, Ausbitbank, V4Vapid, and myself delegating I don't really see any whales in the delegation list, and lord knows all the DJs, mods, and behind the scenes types (not just at MSP, but SFT, Ramble, etc) are pretty much all...not whales:

https://mspdelegator.herokuapp.com/mspdelegators

Yes, now you got it. MSP, not steemit.

Right, sorry about that, I think I misinterpreted the context a little there. (In my defense, I was focusing on "that show" being Steemit, because I'm pretty fed up with "that show" at the moment. I see your context correctly places MSP in the article "that", and it was my focus being elsewhere that caused me to misinterpret.)

Heh, no need for defense, we are on the same side :)

It's always been dolphins and minnows running that show. You nailed it.

I think you mean whales and minnows!

I spent 4 months helping build minnow support and know all the people involved who do stuff and who don't do a thing except benefit from the stuff others do. I know exactly who does the work and who doesn't.

We're (I?) having some communication confusion here. I was referring to who "runs the show" around Steemit, with a sort of negative context (robber barons and the plebs begging for scraps).

I think you were talking about who puts in the actual work at places like MSP, SFT, Waves radio, Ramble, other communities. We are in agreement that that work is decidedly not done by the well-known whales.

Yep, now you got it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54441.42
ETH 2433.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.14