You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Bounty] Community bounty for open source GPU miner.

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I would be open to donating, but my concerns are the real necessity of steem being GPU mineable and last I checked there was still no easy way to run a witness unless you run linux. My rigs are all linux for obvious reasons, but I prefer Windows user experience and compatibility. I think it was Sia or LBRC that was only mac mineable for a long time. Regardless as someone that does a ton of mining on a daily basis, do you really want to further devalue steem through profit mining GPU dumps? I would be more inclined to donate to changing the algo to HODL or Scrypt^2 than to promote mining more steem faster. We need less steem hitting the market so the price can recover. Either way good luck, if I feel it's worthwhile I'll consider chipping in some coin.

Sort:  

The amount of Steem mined per day is not affected by the algorithm or hardware used.

Interesting, so basically people are just mining for higher percentage?

Thanks for the clarification, I was assuming. We all know what good that does. It was one thing I found strange about steem, but noone mines for free, it's too expensive. Knowing that it isn't just hyper inflation makes me happy.

I think you misunderstand how it works. The amount of Steem produced per day is fixed. I would suggest reading the white paper.

I completely agree and have thought the same thing in regards to changing the algo to HODL which I've experienced since March, it's a good platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60569.12
ETH 2442.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52