You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Asking Witnesses: Debt Ownership Caps?

in #steem7 years ago

I have struggling on these questions for several days and made the exact same guess about debt-ownership ratio as you, I don't understand:

Code is quite easy to read, and it seems my guess is way off base.
database.cpp snapshot line 966 create_sbd shows how the cap works.

why are you saying your guess is way off base, I think your guess is right

Sort:  

My guess was that the conversion process stops working, but the reality is that SBD simply stops being printed. So the reality is much simpler-- blockchain stops giving out SBD when a threshold gets hit. I suspect not a lot of people know this, and it matters a lot for the monetary policy.

Actually I never really did the thought exercise for what would happen if we got to that regime: SBD stops being printed, all payouts are in STEEM... STEEM value decreases... In theory should correspond to a corresponding drop in SBD value and maybe the market would work itself out. Don't know. But in this region people will surely be more confused when they realize they aren't getting SBD anymore.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44