My Local Health Service

in #steem4 years ago

Like many parts of South Africa, Medicine is a different story depending on where you are born and what you have financial access to, the medical field can be one of the best in the world or the complete wild west depending on where you are able to access medical treatment in this country.

I am super grateful that I have been this healthy for so long and I hope to be able to avoid any sort of medical treatment as long as I live, not only because it's obscenely expensive but because it still offers no full-proof cure. I try to live as healthily as I can and hopefully avoid visits to the doctors as far as possible.

Medical cover in South Africa is probably out of the reach for the vast majority and they are more likely to have a funeral plan than a health cover.

100dayssteemhealth.png

Private health care

Private medical care in South Africa is pretty darn good, I've only been once for myself having my wisdom teeth removed but It went smoothly and I was well taken care of during my stay. Many of my family members have also been to private hospitals for certain cases and its been overall a good experience I would say for them too.

Government health care

The rest would naturally fall under government care and public facilities, while some are decent the ones you see often are the owns that are overcrowded and run down. There is for sure a need for improvement in the public health care system but I think that our government is simply not up to the task to handle this with things like national power outages and the economic issues we have holding us back.

Traditional health care

While a certain population do try alternative and natural medicine as an option the trade done by sangomas is pretty big, herbalists in South Africa is big money. People often believe in these spells and witchcraft and their advertising is everywhere. Yes there are homoeopathic doctors doing their thing but they are few and far between as traditional healers rule the alternative healing space in South Africa.

Have your say

What do you good people of STEEM think? What's your local health services like? If you have other suggestions, why not make your own post? You can find the instructions here

So have at it my Jessies! If you don't have something to comment, comment "I am a Jessie."

Let's connect

If you liked this post, sprinkle it with an upvote or esteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler and subscribe to my fanbase

Browse & Earn CryptoStack Sats For FreeEarn Interest On Crypto
brave.jpgEarnSats.jpgcryptocom.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83