You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I entitled to your vote???

in #steem6 years ago

I think this doesn't take into account individual users' ability to communicate in a given language. Yes there are many spammers, but it's an equilibrium we've reached when it's become evident that no matter how hard many of the ESL users try, their best-effort comments are typically not rewarded as often or as much as comments from native speakers. Steemit whales are predominantly English-speaking. I think this is just evidence of users pursuing different strategies to generate income, and sometimes people vote for copy-pasted or spammy comments so until people stop voting on them completely the incentive will always be there to do so.

Sort:  

I have also thought about this but what about if these people that do not really write english all that well (but can read it a bit) would use the platform to learn and just write in their own language
They could be founders of their local community in their own language and become whales in their own right (just loosly tranlating beginner posts in your own local language might establish someone as a leader and earn him loads of minnow votes

Translation requires a degree of fluency in both languages...

And there are non-english communities here, but it's evident that most of the biggest comment rewarders are english-speaking. There are some curators who make an effort to help those you're talking about. There are things like OCD international that rewards international posts.

We're kind of talking about comment-farmers here though right, in some cases they're basically bot-net comment farming, in other cases they're individuals with few other options economically-speaking and limited understandings of english or even the ability to write or read in their own language.

in my opinion if they are smart enough to find out how to do the whole crypto thing and set up the accounts and exchanges and so forth then they have to be able to produce better content then spamming a comment over and over. Even taking pictures to share does not need a lot of writing skills, uploading a video etc...
I get what you are saying but they think they are making a living by doing this but its my opinion that they have more chance of earning by doing it differently and probably with less effort

I personally think that individuals who beg for upvotes or resort to spam is in a desperate mindset of survival. I think most of them come from overcrowded places where daily existence is a battle for just a crumb of the pie - let alone a slice. There is a tendency to push, shove and grab for things because they don't know when the opportunity will come by again. I think that they need to be shown a different perspective - show them that there's more than enough to go around for everyone. Get them out of that "survivalist" mentality.

I like the way you think. This is a major dynamic among humans you're pointing at here. I'd love you to write an entire post on it and if you do please flag me so that I definitely see it.

Phew, I've got my work cut out for me then. I'll definitely will do ;)

very well put, this is kind of the thing I was trying to convey in my answer. but yours makes it clearer.

Well, people can sign up for steemit with just a phone number or even just a temporary internet number, and they don't need to have signed up for any other crypto exchanges to use steemit. I don't disagree with what you're saying either.

As far as I understand it some of the most prolific spamming is made by a bunch of dummy accounts that are just attached to a handful of people who control all of them, the rest can probably be coached/learn over time after dealing with the learning curve.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50