You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Selling delegation, becoming voting bots, in the middle of whale wars. Where did all the human curators go?

in #steem7 years ago

I'm glad you put in that you may be missing some layers. I'm not sure if you are but at least you are open to that. I have given up on creating content for awhile because I am frustrated but I do enjoy sharing news through zappl. While I follow your logic completely I don't understand why the value of the coin will drop if we stay on the current trajectory. Can you explain? I'm heavily invested and I'm very active so I'm concerned about the future as much as anyone. My thought is if whales learn to devote a portion to minnows that we will onboard more users and the "whale" content wont matter as long as the incentive for content creation trickles down. I too could be wrong so who knows lol.

Sort:  

My take on this is that are (at least) a few things that could cause numbers of users to stagnate or even drop.

  • If the overall quality of content is too poor.
  • If there too little connection btween quality of content and post rewards - i.e.: the top of trending is full of idiotic bid-bot upvoted trash.
  • Just plain not enough content that the average person is interested in.

Numbers of plankton/minnows etc. matter. Established authors/youtubers etc. need an audience, and won't come across (and stay) without them. If numbers stay too flat for too long or go backwards, I'd begin to wonder about the future of the platform, and I wouldn't be the only one.

I think you are right @samueldouglas but I would add that steepshot is making a dent. It's exactly like instagram and people can bring their entire network over and share as they currently do but earn rewards. I think it has a strong appeal and blogging will become less of a "thing" on steem blockchain. I'm not sure that social media requires 100% good content but we will see.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31