If You Were Going To Launch A Business Blog Would You Do It On Steemit Or Hive?

in #steem4 years ago (edited)

Grey Camo Antimicrobial Face Mask.jpg

Image Credit Social Distance Mask Company

I have thought about this subject simply regarding steemit for some time now. I have been doing online content marketing for over a decade and while things have changed and it no longer my full time job, I tend to cling to some of the old Web2.0 edicts.

One of those is support blogs. That means having a content source that that links to, or provides seo support for the main blog supporting your money page. Money page is your just your main page. It could be your business site, a blog, or a landing page.

The theory is that using an authoritative platform to produce and distribute content would trickle up toward the site you are hoping to get noticed by google. It is one way of doing SEO link building. The value of things like this have always been there but the effectiveness has changed over the years.

Having said that, I have started a small business here in Los Angeles called Social Distance Mask Company . We simply distribute high quality antimicrobial cloth face mask that contain a filter pocket. While that filter pocket does fit a few N95 filters we do not sell or provide those to the general public. In the United States all medical masks should go to medical professional.

So the idea is using the bamboo cloth we have to create protective face covering for everyone else. There is a huge demand in Los Angeles especially because there is a now a mask order in effect. If your face isn't covered with at least a cloth mask you can be denied entry into essential business.

So on my little ecommerce site I'm building there is a blog feature that I am using to curate and write articles that are related to masks in the news. There are lots of reasons why I do this. Having an onsite blog is really important but steemit or hive would be considered and offsite blog.

There are a couple of ways to go about this. First, creating an account in the name of my business or second, just create content on my current account.

In the long run it would be best to set up an entire Social Distance Mask Company profile on the blockchain and build it up over time. But, in the short term links pointing towards my site from other platforms are a good thing.

But as we know, steemit and hive are not created equal. In fact I plan to test this by posting this article on both chains to see how google treats the link coming from each platform. It might seem like they would be treated the same but Steemit has an advantage in my opinion.

Steemit is a highly valued authoritative domain according to google. It has a Page Rank of 8 and that is really high. Facebook, Twitter and Google itself are 10's and I don't know of many others you can link from with values that high.

Getting a do follow back link from steemit is a huge score for any site. However, regular links coming from steemit are "no follow" links. That means that while they are recognized by google, the power of the PR 8 value is not passed to my site. But I believe if post earns more $20 then the tag is automatically changed to a "do follow" link and enjoys all the link power of steemit's pr 8 ranking.

That $20 threshold may have changed but last I checked it was $20. So from a strictly SEO perspective it seems to me that posting on steemit has value.

Hive does not have a PR rating from Google. It is too new and less active. Over time, who knows what will happen but I think surpassing Steemit's Page Rank value is a few years off if ever. But that doesn't mean choosing Steemit over Hive is better. I just don't know.

Some of you might be thinking that traffic numbers on steemit or hive would sway the decision but I really don't believe that either site receives quality traffic. I say that because neither site is an authority in the niche of my business. I don't believe that the users of steemit or hive are potential customers of my product. Nothing wrong with the readers, they are just not targeted.

So my question to both communities is what do you feel would have the most value for a new business wanting to join up and produce offsite content. If it were you, would you use Steemit, Hive or both?

Again I am going to post this article on both platforms to see how google treats the link above in my search console. I will learn a lot about what they think about the value of both of these platforms. i don't think they have a political opinion on the matter. I will post the results when they come it. It's been awhile since I followed how long it takes google to provide link info in Google Search Console

Sort:  

I will be interested to see what conclusions you can draw from this experiment.

Thanks for commenting @pennsif . One conclusion already is that nobody is really here on steemit looking for things to read and vote on which means it wouldn't be worth setting up a profile for a business. I expected this but it also doesn't bode well for the future of steemit or hive as a place for people to dwell lol.

Hopefully numbers will rebuild in the coming weeks and months.

@carolinahempco is a business promoting itself on Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58447.77
ETH 3173.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43