Why I joined Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

It wasn't for the money. Nah, that's a lie of course it was but not in the way it seems. A friend put me onto steemit when it first began and I set up an account. I lost all my passwords for that when I had a hard drive die and life moved on. Back then, it certainly wasn't for the money, it was because steemit was something new and original.
I'd gone and got myself a bitcoin wallet when that all started too but didn't have a clue how to get bitcoin. So there I sat with an empty wallet and no idea how to fill it. I'd told my girlfriend about it and how we should perhaps throw ten or twenty dollars at this new bitcoin stuff as it might be something. It was a great idea after all. We didn't have that ten or twenty dollars to spare.
fuseta.jpg
This was the problem and still is.
We have had an unusual and adventurous relationship but have done it all on my paltry pension of around 700 quid a month. No welfare or benefits, but with that we wandered around a few states in the States and lived on a small cheap boat for a couple of years. We ended up here in Portugal, not because it was exotic, but because it was cheaper than living in the UK.
now we want a camper van to tour Europe.
My point is, because no doubt your wondering why the hell I'm driveling on, is that I believe, we, the poor, unwashed are the main users of steemit. All trying to just make a little bit to help pay the power bill, a couple of extra packs of Raman noodles and maybe just enough to tip us into another adventure.
1044443_10152035842263902_899766680_n.jpg

So now I'm reading on here about banks trying to muscle in and kill this little game and how people are considering buying into bullion. Seriously? If I'd ever had enough in my pocket to buy bullion, I wouldn't be posting on here, I'd have bought a ticket to the middle of Africa to wander through the Serengeti, or flown to south America to paddle up the Amazon.
The reality is, no, for a lot of us on here we want and need steemit to work and somehow or other we need a way to protect the little asset we have from predatory bankers.
One of those ways of course on the site is as it is now, you have to post. You have to vote and resteem etc. No banker has ever worked a day in their lives so they certainly wont be putting that sort of effort into taking over steemit, so the threat lies in the outside market where steem is for sale to whomever wants to buy it. somehow that is the part that needs addressing and I have no clue how. Do you?

Sort:  

I have no clue either and just like you I'm sitting here with an empty bitcoin wallet.still thinking of buying steem or bitcoin or whatever.

I followed an instructional post on here last week. i opened a poloniex account and a wirex account.
With that done I transferred about $50 to the wirex account as bitcoin that can be cashed out in dollars, euros or sterling.
Took a bit of navigating at first but it all worked.
Now I'm just waiting for the Wirex plastic card to arrive to use in the ATM. That is the only bit that cost anything in the whole procedure.
I agree though, yes it takes some time, patience and of course some postings to get it going.
You've got a new follower, so I'll be upvoting you on your way.

Thanks. I'm happy it was that easy for you.will definitely watch out for your posts as well.

Congratulations @centaurmystic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Nice. I am pretty much in the same boat, but I don't even have a boat!

Congratulations @centaurmystic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63889.31
ETH 2757.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66