You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Get People Interested in Joining Steem?

in #steem5 years ago (edited)

So far my only one onboarded here was the one black guy I met in Bucharest. He pretty much stopped after one-two posts, like I was expecting.

My friends haven't really gotten interested even though I've talked about this stuff (crypto, Steem) and they even read my blogs here on regular basis. They are somewhat open-minded though, one has even put money into investment funds - like I have - so I might get him interested and try onboarding again once I can start claiming accounts.

Sort:  

It's beginning to sound to me like apps should not actually require people to create Steem accounts at all at first. Joining Steem should be as easy as joining Facebook. Just an email account or a Facebook login should be enough. An app should act as a custodian of their accounts and offer them them an opportunity to take control of their own account once they have enough Steem Power to begin transacting smoothly. This is how 3speak.online works. I don't know what 3speak.online does if the user does not want to begin using their account themselves. Will it continue to retain custody of it? Perhaps it should. As the rewards accumulate, the more incentivized the user will be to take control of their account. Another possibilty is that the app use guest accounts while posting on behalf of guest users and keep the rewards while using them to reward registered users. Even in that case, the app might want to calculate and remind the user of what they are missing out on. I don't know that the best policy is but the neat thing is that there need not be a one-size-fits-all solution.

I think the masses might not be ready to take full control over their data and to monetize the data their online activities generate. At least that probably takes some priming by mass media in stories that highlight the evils of the likes of Facebook and other social media giants.

I'd be happy if mass adoption took off on Steem. But I'm afraid it wouldn't necessarily look the same as adoption so far.

An app should act as a custodian of their accounts and offer them them an opportunity to take control of their own account once they have enough Steem Power to begin transacting smoothly. This is how 3speak.online works.

I think something like this could be the solution for easing onboarding for regular folks. I think it's actually ingenious. No need to have all the complications right in the beginning when one's account is still barely worth anything. But once it is, one could take the step for full ownership of the account.

Why isn't Steemit doing this?

Posted using Partiko Android

Steemit is beta. Or is it any longer? Anyway, there is some work involved in taking custody of the user's accounts. Steemit, Inc has other, more pressing concerns at this point rather than onboarding such as implementing the core blockchain roadmap. Onboarding is easily taken care of by third party apps.

Steemit is beta. Or is it any longer?

I think they finally escaped beta :D But it's true that onboarding is probably better left for the third party apps with Steemit Inc. being busy with SMTs and stuff.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69