My Dali Design Process Winner of the #CreativeCrypto Art And Design Challenge Round 7: Steem

in #steem6 years ago

My Dali Design Process Winner of the #CreativeCrypto Art And Design Challenge Round 7: Steem Steem

Good day to everyone Steemit community, this time I bring what I think will be one of the longest post I've done, but maybe the project deserves it. This is my modeling process for a challenge I participate in the channel of @Sndbox and @Creativecrypto which consisted in making a design according to an art trend using the Cryptocurrency of the week, in this case: the '' Steem ' ' important Cryptocurrency for the functioning of this wonderful platform, so throughout this post should be considered a tribute to this platform and theCryptocurrency itself. Although I have posted designs before, these had been honorable mentions, for this case it is the first one in which I am in the '' winners '' table and although I feel satisfied with that, I feel much more for the result that I could get from this project, I can say that it is one of the 3D modeling designs that I liked the most. Let's start talking a little about him.

35.png

To begin with I worked with one of the most influential artists in my particular art, and even in the things I write and how I look at the world. We cant be talking about other than the surrealism of Salvador Dalí. As this artist saw the world in a way that no one, and I repeat NO ONE in his time looked, an understanding of abstraction and impressive analogy, so much that his designs seemed like an impossible world, where all the things we know about which we live collide with Dalí's reasoning. In addition to his understanding of space-perspective, understanding this as the position of an object in a given area with respect to the position of the viewer. Dalí dominated both the "space" in art that could play with the position of objects and how they are modeled towards this new reality, simply, I love it.

Salvador-Dali.png Link

For my design I wanted to inspire myself in a particular work called '' The persistence of the memory '', this work is based on an '' image '' where the main pieces determined by pocket watches are '' melting '' As if it were the time they were there it was taking effect between them. It could also be analyzed that time is "relative" and it "melts" between our memories, a simply excellent idea. For my design I wanted to use the Steem logo as the central element of this work of art and '' melt it '' to the work, being part of the design, or simply being part of his '' memory ''.

To start I worked looking at the painting so that my design would adapt to the real work. I then modeled the base and some rectangular elements that would be part of the project later, the base for the tree that will hold the characteristic pocket watch and a rectangular base that seemed to connect with the water, the first design was as follows.

19.png

With a modifier of the program I had the facility of being able to easily model a rock shape that resembled that of the work, but later I was giving it retouching until it was as similar as possible to the work (it should be noted that the challenge was to deliver it in a maximum of 7 days once the post was placed, so I had to save as much time as possible in order to achieve the final project). Once the rock in the back area has been molded, position the camera in such a way that the perspective considers the work and I gradually moved the objects so that they fit perfectly.

20.png

21.png

As you can see the elements of the '' background '' are almost ready, some elements are missing in the end that I will created later. I started by designing the strong elements of the project, in this case, from a cylinder I shaped the shape of a tree with its branches and designed it in the most identical way possible. Regarding the clock, create one as simple as possible and step by step I was "modelling" click by click, the truth is that the work was simpler than it seems, I added them to the scene and they fit as such wanted to. Here is a detail of the objects:

22.png

27.png

23.png

After that, I created a duplicate of the clock to add it to the block where the tree would be, and I modeled what I understood as a form of "rock" or "sack bag" that was located in the center of the design and where I planned to place the Steem design. When I added the objects in the general modeling, I felt very good with what I was achieving, I felt that the things I have modeled this was one of the greatest, the truth is that the best projects I have done have been thanks to the contests I've been to Steemit. I hope you feel the same when I put the camera in the program and saw the following:

28.png

It was time to model the logo of Steem, so using a reference image I added it to the project and I was "tracing" in 3D the figure of the Steem, once having the main form, add the central rock that mentioned them apart previously and I was twisting the Steem with respect to the volume I had in the bottom to achieve the "Dalí" effect of melting the logo I was looking for. The process is graphed as follows:

30.png

31.png

To finish the modeling part, create a sheet that would represent the background of the project, and a rectangle molded with a tool of the program to simulate the sea, that gave the touch to the project, and I felt very well guided in my design.

32.png

The decisive moment arrives to add the textures to the project, I remember that I started with the rocks, I added some lines in brown and yellow tones of each color, blurring them until I achieved what I wanted, the back block was some concrete-like material so there was no biggest problem with that, like the block later on, the ocean had water texture or in this case '' glass '' what changes the glass with the water is the refraction level that this can have so that I added the values, the clock would have a '' gold '' color as well as the Steemit logo, to make a relation by colors and that this would adapt to the environment. Finally I ship an image of some clouds and added it in the background. The basic colors without adding the properties of each material remained that way.

33.png

Here I leave some different perspectives of the scene you create, I believe that this image that I will add will be very beneficial for anyone who is starting or have a time working with 3D modeling to understand how objects are placed in space. In this image you can also see the lighting points that the design has.

36.png
Almost finished once all the materials were added the rendered image, this was the base image where all the objects were in place with the brightness that I wanted and the property of the material I was looking for, if it was reflective, how much? It was corrugated, how much? etc. The render was like this:

37.png

Although I liked the final design, Dalí's design was a painted work of art, not a 3D art, so for the first time in Photoshop I intervened a design of mine, I added more colors and a type of brush that simulated the brush strokes and splashes that Dali did in his paintings to reach the final result that gave me the victory in the contest:

DALI.png

This was the end of the post but not the end of my 3D modeling work, without a doubt this was a challenge, but an increasingly satisfactory challenge as I continued working. I hope to continue publishing my art and that it is to your liking. Any questions, so do not hesitate to write me, I know that the 3D world and 3D modeling is very difficult to assimilate and understand sometimes so anything will be made to order what they need.

Thanks a lot for your time! Bye Bye!

Heiberg2.png

Sort:  

Un trabajo excepcional e impresionante. Te felicito, @ceheiberg.

¡muchas gracias por tu comentario, muchos saludos!

Excelente, buen trabajo!

¡muchas gracias amigo!, muchos saludos

Excelente tutorial. Se ve difícil.

Muchas gracias, el proceso no es complicado una vez que sabes manejar las herramientas y tienes un norte claro de lo que quieres hacer. Pero cuando comencemos a utilizar la herramienta si fue algo abstracto, jajaja. Muchos saludos y gracias por comentar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
SBD 2.33