Longterm Steem Curation Rewards

in #steem8 years ago

Instead of encouraging clickbait let's talk about long term curation of valuable content

I don't see any benefit in not counting votes towards author or curation rewards after 30 days. Let me know if you think I'm wrong.

If I find someone's post months after it was created I might still want to reward the author and the curators should still be rewarded as well. If we are worried about sending rewards to abandoned accounts we could easily make exceptions for accounts that haven't been active in X months.

As of now you could still send the author bitcoin donations if they have made their address available. But why miss out on the curation rewards?

A short term solution would be to "invest" in the author of the older content by setting a vote bot to upvote any of his posts. A user could then maintain a small list of authors they have "invested in". Not sure if I even like it, but it's an idea.

Let me know what you think. @camb

dollar-exchange-rate-544949__340.jpg

Sort:  

Still looking at all this through a relative newbie's eyes. In essence, very few posts on Steemit earn anything after the first 24 hours... maybe a few cents by the 30-day cutoff date.

As a content creator, that sends the message to me that this is a "not news" site looking for stories/posts that create instant interest. Conversely, it suggests to me that "evergreen" content is not really valued. Which I find slightly odd, since there seems to be a lot of chatter about how to create "lasting value" here....

Thanks for the input. I agree "evergreen" content isn't currently rewarded properly. Instant gratification is nice at times but content with long term value would at least be my priority for steem. What do you think about the idea of investing in an author by using a vote bot for the authors future post. Good? Or just another thing spamming the network?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62948.49
ETH 2583.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74