You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem - Problems Seed Solutions

in #steem6 years ago

You make some excellent points here, direct curation is a continuous challenge. To see mass adoption there needs to be enough people around to support and upvote the content - I’m not sure enough is being done to keep those active stakeholders retained.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

Hey @c0ff33a thanks.

Yeah, I agree with what you say here

To see mass adoption there needs to be enough people around to support and upvote the content

and despite me pointing out in this article what I see as some unfair curation methods by some entities on steem, I think the wider problem is definitely to do with an imbalance between consumers and creators. We don't have enough consumers at the moment. If we did it might become a lot less frustrating for people constantly questing after dapp or curie/ocd votes as I think more people primarily curating would mean a leveling out of rewards based on quality as the consensus effect would kick in. The way I can see this, possibly, happening is when/if the content types are split into communities with their own dedicated front ends. Maybe in the future, mainstream people could visit, for example, a platform for photography where they could curate their favorite photos and even download them for a certain $ level of upvote. This is just all ideas, but I think one thing steem needs is some development like that to really incentivise curation/consuming of content for the mainstream audience. Also, for sure, we do need to take down Fbook, Twitter, Insta and YouTube and poach all their content makers and audience along with them ;-)

All of the thoughts and musings in this article and have grown partly from my recent experience on steem. I've been here for 16 months now and used to post a lot more creative writing and articles around travel and nature. I am a full time writer, but I no longer put my writing up on steem as it isn't worth the time and I get paid to write for various other freelance gigs. I'm not moaning, but it is still a fact and I know many other creative writers have left steem. I'm just stubborn ;-) so I've taught myself video editing and a little about cinematography to make decent vlogs/films on dtube as their is more potential for reward.

My point is that it's an example of how the mechanisms of steem, as they are now, are driving people away, or in my case causing a negative incentive for me to post what I do for a profession.

I'm hopeful that all of these things I mentioned in this post will sort of balance themselves out in the long term so that we can make steem simply the foundation of a building with many different departments.

Ha ha, this comment is running the risk of becoming another post so I'll wrap it up.

Thanks for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41