You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Noob's Guide to Steemit

in #steem7 years ago

"Don't be an asshat." Words to live by. ...I have a noob question, so if I give a vote to a post that is older than 30min, basically I'm giving myself that money? Because sometimes I will read a post and like it and give a vote but not leave a comment. So, instead of being nice with the vote, really I've just been kind of a lurker asshole paying myself? Shit.

Sort:  

So when you vote on a post, think of it as an investment. You aren't going to get the money from your vote but you are investing it in that Steemian's post. You are saying you think it will do well and then if it does you'll reap curator rewards. So when you are browsing if you see a post that you think will do a lot better than it already has give it your attention. Vote, resteem and comment on it. Curator rewards aren't super meaningful to us noobs but they do add up eventually.

Just one more way to earn and build an account! Thoughtful commenting is probably the best way though as a noob.

Ahhh... okay, so I re-read the FAQ and it makes much more since this time. I wasn't understanding the separation of author (75%) rewards and curator (25%) rewards, and that the 25% is then further split between author and curator based on time of vote. I think I got it now. Thanks!

Yeah it's kind of confusing. I was going off old information originally when it was a 50/50 split and voting first was the most important thing. Now that's not the case.

P.S. How do you have 20 votes on this post, and only 2 views? Actually, I'm assuming the little eyeball next to the Facebook symbol means views...could be incorrect there as well.

There are a couple reasons, firstly check out this post. Using @good-karma's app eSteem has some added benefits. He throws in votes for noobs posts to help get exposure. Secondly bots and people that just vote without reading. All techniques for exposure and things I probably should have included in my Noob's Guide. But hey, I'm a noob too so I get a pass! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58544.56
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44