I started running (again) ...

in #steem8 years ago

Me before 30

I used to be in the U.S. Army. I joined back in 1997 when I weighed 180 lbs. Running was easy for me back then.

me in iraq

During PT (physical training) there would be groups A, B, and C. If you were really fast you would join Group A. If you could not run very well at all you would join Group C. I was always in Group A. I loved to run. Sometimes I would get tired but I always forced myself to keep running no matter what. I think that I took that time in my life for granted. I know now that running is NOT easy. Being a good runner takes skill and it is a skill I almost lost.

Now I'm 37

Now when I run, it is a struggle. Everything hurts. I think I forgot how to breath while I run.

Slowly I am getting back to my old routine and how I used to have a good pace. The recovery time takes a lot longer. I just try to stay positive and work my way back to where I was before. When I started I weighed 247 lbs. I have managed to get down to 227. My goal is to weigh 215 before winter comes. Now that it is August in the midwest, it won't be long before the cold weather is here.

I run around a park by my house and I am currently trying to run 3 miles without stopping. Right now I can only run about a mile and then I stop. I get so mad when I stop. I want to run like I used to. I used to have it so easy.

My favorite part is when I make it to the final gate. It is such a happy site. I had to take a picture because I wanted other people to see what it looks like to me when I get to the finish line.

Image of gate

Shoes

I was running everyday and eventually I had to buy some new shoes. My old ones were getting a little worn out. They weren't really running shoes either. The new ones are a lot more comfortable.

Image of gate

Keep Going

No matter how fast or slow you run ... keep at it. Don't give up. I have been working hard to get to my goal and I will reach my goal. When things seem really hard for you and you feel like giving up - just keep fighting. Somewhere else out there in the world, I am fighting too.

Just Run!

Image of gate

Sort:  

Thank you for the inspirational post. We all can starting doing things we once did, we just need to get up and do it.

Thanks for your comment! I hope to inspire others to run - even if they aren't very good like me :)

Good for you. Congrats and keep on running.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63887.77
ETH 3417.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56