I Contacted @YallaPapi

in #steem6 years ago

yallapapi-phobos.png
If you have been on the Trending page in the last month or so you likely know who @YallaPapi is. You may or may not like his writing style or the fact that his content was on the Trending page. It clearly got there from heavy upvote bot usage. I personally never had a problem with all the bot usage but I have been observing his strategy for awhile to see if it would work.

His power wasn't increasing much from the strategy but we knew who he was.

I had voiced previously that I didn't feel like the strategy was going to work in the long run because it seem like 80% of people on this blockchain were home schooled and STEEM is actually a really politically correct place. People are afraid to offend whales or something. I don't even worry about that because I raise whale and dolphin pods in my pool every week.

The majority of whale accounts don't really care much about the day to day happenings on the STEEM blockchain. They are mainly earning passively and already caught some pretty big rides. They can't be bothered much with the drama going on here. It makes sense. There are a lot of crypto projects where I am HODLing the coins but I'm not checking up on the day to day news or worrying about it at all. That is how STEEM is to a lot of whale accounts.

Why Did I Contact Him?

His last post did grab my attention.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yallapapi/strong-independent-yallapapi-don-t-need-no-whale

Basically there is going to be an online crypto currency publication on Steemit and he has negotiated a deal to lease a large amount of power and it will provide consistent income to those writing for the publication.

Initially I think this sounds like a good idea because if a person knows they are going to get paid a certain amount and that the post will make it to the Trending page they will be able to spend more time on it and really go in more depth on certain topics.

The biggest reason this caught my attention though is that @yallapapi is willing to shake things up which is interesting to watch at the very least.

I contacted him with some examples of my work and we will see what happens as this thing gets all hashed out in the next few days.

Ultimately I don't know if I will like the type of writing if I get the position but it should mix things up for me for awhile and hopefully supplement the earnings I have been getting already if I get the spot.

It has been interesting watching everyone try different strategies on here and the game keeps evolving.

Do you guys think that @yallapapi's online crypto currency publication will be successful?

Earn $10 Of Free Bitcoin From Brian Phobos!  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

I think it's bravery on his part to put up a post that says he doesn't need a whale...
Though must whale don't really care about what happens here, I think a few of them may frown on the steps he has taken...
For me, steemit is a place were everything is possible as long as you carry others along.
So will he be successful with his publication?
Maybe... That's 70% sure and
30% not sure

Loading...

It would be interesting to know what most the whales think about him. The whales that check in once in awhile that is .

Hey buddy great post, I caught a good Reddit post by @yallapapi the other day as well...

https://www.reddit.com/r/Entrepreneur/comments/8dv2wd/how_i_built_a_3500_follower_steemit_account_in/

I actually really like his posts, I love the honesty and athenticity in them and also love his sense of humor as well.

I'm all for people shaking things up here.

In terms of whales. i get that they are earning passively so why put in work but to some extent I would think they would want to support the platform because the more Steemit grows the more their accounts grow in value.

I guess I don't understand the whole concept of whales. How did they get on so early? Are they all friends of the creators of Steemit or are they just people who saw an opportunity and got in early?

Do any of them actually believe in the platform or was it simply a money move getting invovled?

One thing I do notice of many whales is manyhave never made a single post so I assume just bought up the accounts and the account is nothing more than a wallet to them, however I wonder if any of them blog under aliases and are active here?

The whole thing just blows my mind

I just read the Reddit post. It is interesting how he was a little more candid in that post about the profitability of what he is doing. I have been monitoring his STEEM Power and it hasn't been really increasing. It is a very interesting experiment though.

The whales sort of come from different angles. There was a big Ninja mine essentially and a lot of that went to Steemit Inc , founders, and early investors. Then Even in 2016 when I got on they had a partial proof of work component that every 20 blocks it could be mined but then someone was able to develop a closed source GPU miner and pretty much dominated all the Proof of Work blocks.

Then there were people who knew about the project early most of those people were involved in BitShares. So it would almost be like guys like us who know about BitShares and Steemit and so we are a little more clued in on something like EOS. All the original STEEM was mined for something like $5,000 worth of electricity and it was kind of insane because some of those people who spent like $500 ended up with hundreds of thousands of dollars.

When Steemit came out of Alpha in mid 2016 it shot clear up to $4 and then all these guys who got rich started powering down and off loading large amounts including @dan and @ned and it went on for awhile. I remember it going down to $1 and they were all still powering down and wouldn't answer to anyone about their plans.....etc. In a lot of ways I feel like them and others set the stage for the thing to be completely driven into the ground. If they would have stopped powering down at $2 or so people would have noted that and it would have been a more bullish sign.

I feel this was a big reason why it couldn't stay in the top 10 on coin market cap. I was giving the platform a very low chance to survive at the time and was honestly suprised when it made a big surge again a year ago.

But I think the people who weren't involved in 2016 sort of came up on it and thought it was a great idea but didn't go through all the drama and put a chunk of money toward it and then when things shot up and recovered they then became well off as well.

I'm hoping the EOS situation turns out pretty good and I can catch a very large ride with it but we will see in the end. I'm figuring that it will turn out solid but I don't know if I will make millions off it or something. I guess it depends if I'm able to hold on to the majority of it for a couple of years. Then I think it could maybe do that.

We can see as much positive things here at steemit than negative things and I want to look at those angles and enjoy blogging while empowering myself to rise from my neck-deep health problems.

Community support for you and @darthnava 's health problems are two of the main reason I know that STEEM will never die. No matter what comes up and how frustrating the situation can be on Steemit I know we can overcome it.

Yeah Brian, I actually was reading this post of his yesterday. It's very interesting.

Please let us know what happens.

Personally, I just value my own Creativity and "Literary Independence" to do that. Even if the money (or steem) was right.

I love being able to write about what I want to and when I want to:)

Yeah I'm still going to do my regular blogging but we will see if he can pull it off and I can write some of the stuff for it possibly. Ultimately if I don't like it then I will just say so and then stop writing for the publication.

The usage of bots has taken centre stage this days. I wonder why they were allowed, but it matters a little now, the problem is how we can overcome the problems they cause, I mean, upvoting and promoting content that has been copied or does not even worth that much is the one that makes things bad by me. Steemit is created with good intentions but creativity has turned it into a battle field. People who can create bot are creative but misusing bots is not so good at all.

It makes some of us lose hope because we cannot create bot or fund them to help us as we have nothing.

I understand your frustration with some of the stuff that is happening on here but ultimately it is like anything. It is a battle for power, money, and reputation so the lines get very blurry on what is good for the community and what isn't. Everyone has their own opinion on ever piece of it.

could the use of bots be stopped or blocked via a hard fork?

Essentially not. All those accounts are doing is giving an upvote. So there is no real way to stop that from happening. If if you added to the code and basically said that a vote would be nullified if a person sent money to the memo before the vote occurred or something of that nature then it could just be written to fire the upvote off out of another account.

The whole upvote service could have happened from Day 1 in 2016 but I feel at the time it didn't because so many had some sort of utopian outlook on this platform and that seemed to go against the culture here are first. Then when it happened it was clearly something that people had different opinions on. Now we are seeing it pressed to about the max.

Any attempt in code to stop the upvote would be like this.

The only real way I can see to stop it is having Steemians with over 1000 sp and a reputation of 50 or something Steem Connect to another site and then vote on certain topics like flagging @haejin or other things of that nature and that the witnesses would carry that out like a representative of the communities wishes.

I've spent 100 years on the Internet, beat that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34