Fastest Way To Build A Steemit Following (Return Of The Steemit Pool Meeting!)

in #steem7 years ago

After being on Steemit for over 10 months we have seen changes in the platform but one thing remains true on this social platform as well as others.  You have to put in the time to build a following to make your earnings more sustainable.  It isn't easy for new users to get on any platform and try to gain traction.  There are my recommendations to building a following as quick as possible.  

 

1) Do your introduction post with a verification photo.

2) Get on Steemit.chat and post your content in the different post promotion rooms. 

  • Upvote and comment on other people's posts as well in the chat room.

3) Go to 'new' or 'trending' and comment on people's posts

4) Pick what type of content you are going to promote to hopefully fill a gap that isn't really there on Steemit.

  • This is pretty wide open.  Just because someone else is doing it doesn't mean you can't get in there and have a different twist on what they are doing.  My topics have crossover with other people's topics.

5) Start Something New 

  • This could be a rewards game or contest. 
  • Also you could get involved with an existing project like Steemgigs.

6) Try to form a crew.  

  • @craig-grant was successful at doing this early on where he got people together to help each other out when our votes didn't really count for anything.  The more instrumental you become in the community the more people will remember your influence.  

General Advise

Building the following is going to take time and a lot of effort.  It is easy to get discouraged and say "It isn't worth it."  There was a time in Steemit's life cycle about 6 months ago that I was giving it a low percentage chance to ever really pull out of the pit it was in.  Things turned around and it came back.  The people who kept active on the platform really came out ahead when this happened.  I was semi active having my Steem Voter bot vote and I was doing some posts here and there and posting comments.  Some users kept putting up multiple posts per day in the face of very low payouts.  Their followings grew and they were more visible in the down period to those who had a fairly large investment in the platform.  It paid off for a lot of them.

I was financially forced to power down a lot of my earnings but the one things I have intact is my reputation and my following.  That is very valuable going forward.  

  

Thank you for reading my post and please consider following me @brianphobos

Sort:  

Ou man, this is what I needed! Thank you, very useful for me! :) Keep posting stuff like this @brianphobos

No problem! I'm glad to help and "Welcome to the VIP of social media" Others are putting dog ears on themselves on Snapchat for $0. We are over here rollin' in the bits having a grand old party! LOL

Thanks for sharing! Let's Steem on! ;)

Thank you for checking out the post! I hope it helps!

Thank You, being a newby to steemit, your post will definitely help me alot.

@leonf No problem. I know the feeling and when I joined there was a lot of teaching going on because everything was so new for everyone on here. Now that almost a year has went by there isn't as much out there and it can still be confusing for people so on boarding new users needs to be a huge focus to retain people and bring them into the community.

I Absolutely agree.

This is solid advice. Look, you wanna get paid for something, chances are it's going to take work to do it. This isn't different. But man, it's a whale (no pun intended) of a lot easier to make a buck here with good content than it is anywhere else I know of. Only way that makes sense is to do what you're suggesting.

Thanks for the post.

@cristof It certainly is a whale and just think about this for instance. Imagine you get on YouTube and you want to make a certain type of videos. To match the quality of the top YouTubers is pretty intimidating. They have great cameras and next level editing potentially and maybe they are setup some other way like they are rich and have exotic cars....etc.....etc... Here it is tough as well and a person almost has to tell themselves they are going to have to get really active in the community to make their username known. It will become harder to stand out in the future so the best time to start hitting it hard is right now!

Amen to that. I'm burning a lot of time here, but I'm happy with how it's going. I like the people in the community, and I'm learning a lot.

That is great to hear. There are a lot of wicked smart people on this platform for sure!

yes its really helpful

Thank you for checking out my post. I hope it helps.

I couldn't find your post on the chat. I saw you upvoted me in there. Post your link in here.

You got 2/3, but don't worry, you will get 3/3 because you did invest in the steemit community and be getting more active ;)

I invested a ton of time especially last summer and fall. I always stayed partially active and would make comments on people's stuff even when things weren't going to so good. I came back months ago when the payouts were super low and I would only get paid a couple bucks here and there. Hopefully we are able to rise up more and set a new standard for what is possible.

I'd rather be hanging here than trying to scrap it together on fiverr

It is funny you mention that because I was just going to do a review on Fiverr. I have had a bunch of gigs done on there by people from around the world. I feel like it is a better platform for people in the 3rd world who have good English skills. Again they have to establish themselves and start getting their following to pay out more for their work. I went back to some of the same people several times but suddenly the really good ones got overloaded with work. Check out the Steemgigs initiative on here. It has potential!

Thanks, I will.

Nice! Now I remember the pool... seems like so long ago lol

Dude it is funny the people who remember the pool meetings. I didn't have a lot of success with them from a whale perspective but from the other content creators that didn't have a lot of Steem Power it was a novel concept and people thought it was interesting. Thanks for checking in!

Dig the post bro. Followed and upvoted. Feel free to follow back. Cheers

Thanks! I followed you back!

Great tips and good info. I'm still a newbie. Been steeming for 3 months. Followed and upvoted.

I appreciate it! It is tough starting out for sure but when you start to get a system down and start getting recognized it starts to build on itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65626.89
ETH 3449.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33