Followers: Bots or PeoplesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem6 years ago

Just a quick post; call it a test.

Not being a very active poster, I can’t expect people to keep following, so I don’t take much pain in seeing the follower numbers on the slow decline while I’m in between posting and just reading / lurking.
So, after finally completing another post, I click post and then go to the profile page. Somehow, within the time it took me to click post and clicking the profile link, somehow I managed to get almost 10 new followers.

Now, I would love to pat myself on the back and say “look at that, I say something and people are crowding around”… then I sit for a moment and think about it. These people saw that I posted, read it, and decided that I was worth following into the future within the time it took me to load the profile page?!?

Very clearly these are not real people, but bots.

So, what is the purpose of these bots that follow people as soon as they post? Is that supposed to be an ego boost for noobs to feel like they are getting noticed?
It seems like it would cause more harm than good to the platform if these bot users are intended to pad the numbers of active users of Steem…

Does anyone have any clues about what is going on? I mean, I love to joke that I’m so good that (insert crude joke) but at the same time, it’s just too obvious that something is off with followers show up the instant a post is made…

Does anyone else wonder how many followers they have are not even real people?

Sort:  

@bmanmcfly, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Congratulations @bmanmcfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @bmanmcfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Don't give up now. I was in this same position. it gets easier the longer you are on here. I did nothing for about 18 weeks and all of a sudden it started falling into place. I will help you somehow just start posting again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15