You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Has a Severe Glitch That Likens It To Reddit, Facebook and Fox News

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

I don’t have much faith in Steemit because all it takes is one “Cop Whale” to keep me from earning money and reaching my audience.

Even if a "Cop Whale" had all the power in the world on Steemit. He/she still could not remove your content from the blockchain... once it's there, it's there for good. Also, if you were to say, build up your following to a very high level, even a multitude of Whale DownVotes couldn't stop your followers from reading your content. You are also lowering the potential power of the steemit bottom percentile. If, for sake of argument, Steemit grows to 1 million users by then, the sheer numbers would create a balance.

Sort:  

Very cool blueorgy. Thanks. I realize a publishing can't be erased but is it true a cop whale can stop one of my articles from moving forward? And can he downvote me to the loss of $2000. I realize no person can stop my followers from seeing the content but I don't consider my followers as my only audience. Even though I will have a lot of followers who will upvote me and see my publishings, can a multitude of whales downvote causing me to lose cash? It is comforting to know that at least all my followers will get my posts. I've been wanting that leisure for a very long time. I love that part about Steem.

When it comes to monetizing your posts sadly yes Whales have a huge say in this and it's something we should probably have a much longer discussion about. Because they have a majority of the power vested in Steemit they have the most say when it comes to monetary value of a post... As for the visibility of your post from multiple Whale DownVotes this seems to be less intrusive. The most recent example would be @berniesanders DownVoting a post (I'm sure i don't have to reference it) although it lost its STEEM value it was still very much trending and had a lot of discussion on it due to comments and UpVote counts.

Ps. you've been followed ;) lets see what you bring to the table!

Big love. Thanks for the good insight and thanks for the follow. I'm curious about some posts I've already written. They are bit risky but I'm going to try a few soon.

I think it may be time to test the waters... Yes, that was a Whale pun.

Also you may think this is cool: Steem.Cool - web app I built that gives more incite into your reputation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47