Steemit SUCKS!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steem7 years ago

Okay, it doesn't 'suck'. I love the platform, it does however have some issues and it has one feature that will stop me from investing anything.

I started reading about Steemit and how it worked and I believed that it was a very hard concept dealing with multiple currencies or tokens. STEEM, STEEM POWER, STEEM DOLLARS, VESTS, APR etc.

I'm not an idiot, but I found the learning curve steep in comparison with other blogging platforms, I did however think that the idea of being rewarded for contributing to the network exciting and I believed that making money without advertising royalties would outweigh the learning curve.

I also believe that over time things would likely become simpler, or at the very least a better on-boarding process would become available to make it easier for new users to join the platform.

The big gripe I have with the platform is how long it takes to power down. 2 years is just ridiculous. I understand it's to ensure the network remains stable but it's terrible that you can't get your cash out when you hear bad news.

Imagine the developers die in a fiery car crash (worst case scenario) - surely the value of STEEM will tank, if you're quick enough you can take a small loss and forget about it. If it takes two years, then surely by the time your money finally becomes liquid - most of the exchanges could've delisted it.

For me, I won't invest, sure - maybe I'll speculate on exchanges, but I will not add to my STEEM POWER to ensure that steemit becomes what I want it to be, to me - it's too risky.

Thoughts, anyone?

Sort:  

STEEMIT = DARK MIRROR ?
STEEMIT = PONZI SCHEME ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55