You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Join Me In Discussion To Build a Better Platform. @pawsdog

in #steem7 years ago

I like the freedom of the earning potential here but I see the problem you bring forth. It almost boils down to it's not what you know, it's who you know. Meaning if you've got a whale on your side, someone with upvote bots, a network of friends / backers / followers or Mr. Benjamin Franklin himself you can post literally anything and generate hundreds.

As someone who's dealt with plenty of limits and hard caps in my life I somewhat disagree with any sort of hard cap but I would like to present what I feel might be a better idea. That is to put a hard cap on the potential rewards percentage. The main problem is the rewards pool. Not necessarily a USD amount, as it was more or less used as comparison to the argument. This was the 6.7%. Accurate or not it caused quite a stir. While the new number was still at over 1%, and whether or not the flags caused the 6.7% to drop to just over 1% is unknown to me but the question is What percent of the rewards pool in a 7 day period is considered too much for one user to suck up?

We would have to see what percentage other whales are taking up on a 7 day basis, however the earnings probably fluctuate so 1% this week might only be 0.2% next week for the same creator.

I can use @exyle as an example because he is delivering a lot of good for the platform with Steemify. I usually try to catch his videos and I would say with the work he's done I think his earnings are well deserved. Over the last 7 days he's sitting at just over 11 grand in potential earnings holding about 0.57% of the rewards pool and no one bats an eye.

I am most certainly not batting an eye. Like I said, I feel his earnings are just based on the observation I've made that he's contributed a lot to this platform. These numbers are simply used as an example so we can all be on the same page.

What percent of the rewards pool is too much for any user?

Sort:  

"...if you've got a whale on your side, someone with upvote bots, a network of friends / backers / followers or Mr. Benjamin Franklin himself you can post literally anything and generate hundreds."

No. @ranchorelaxo was on @haejin's side.
Many were on @krnel's side, once.

These rogue upvotes of the plebs were a threat to the entire purpose of Steemit, and were crushed. Their rewards were returned to the rewards pool, where the 39 whales could get them, as is the purpose of stakeweighting.

As long as plebs impact the rewards pool insignificantly, they're fine. When they threaten the ROI of whales, they need to be crushed.

Wise dolphins know this. They post their $hundreds earning posts but rarely, and thus are permitted.

This is the Steemit way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61063.93
ETH 2667.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61