STEEM Price...What is Going On?? Below $1USD

in #steem7 years ago

Hey Steemit,

Today I see Steem price down again big today, with a 13% drop, to as low as $0.93USD. I would of thought with bitcoin price flying and the overall crypto market is more bullish, that we would see Steem taking on new recent highs? On top of that, I would think the more active users joining, the value of Steem should increase??

Can any veterans step in and spread some light on this?

Also I have another questions that I have been pondering... Will the Steem currency be able to sustain the yearly inflation rate??? Or do we need to really be growing and the currency appreciating to be able to continue to see value growth in it???


As much as I have a concern, I am actually quite happy....

Happy?!?! Why?!!? Well I have been waiting for Steem to drop to around $0.60 for the past couple months. Already this price is pretty attractive and want to load up some more but will watch and wait these coming weeks.

Please add your thoughts in the comment section, as I am really interested in this topic and questions listed above.

Have a great day everyone!!

@bitdollar

Sort:  

New user will only increase the value of steem if they buy it. If they are here to post and cash out, they will decrease the value of steem. To increase the value you need buyers not sellers

Great point, thank you for sharing that view. Gives me a better understanding and others here on the platform. Anything else you can add?

Yes, If they are incentivized to join Steem.it and take a few dollars and add nothing more than spam. This place is short-lived.
With that said, I have an idea. I'll write it up in a post.

Thank you, for your reply.

Im intrigued now. Looking forward to the post.

More active users joining Steem.it.
What are these active users bringing to Steem.it?:
I see an increase in spam.
And increase in Vote begging.
An explosion in plagiarism.

I doubt if the majority of new content creators are here to create content.
Without out adding value to the community, the price will fall.

"Iceburg dead ahead".

If active users increase, it does not matter in my opinion about how great the content is. The more people and eyes on the platform, generally the more valuable it should become. Do you not agree?

If the active users are here to take from the reward pool which is refilled by the creation of new steem;
then, the price of steem has to go down because of inflation.
The new steem is sold. Steem needs investors to survive.
And investors will not invest in Spam and begging.

Very great points. I do think content quality will increase overtime. What is your future outlook for the price of Steem and the platform as a whole?

I have just given you the very definition of a Ponzi scheme that is folding.

So will you be powering down and selling your steem?

I saw similar comments in a few posts on steemit.
Well it is super true - if nobody will step in and need steem it can only go down and into the wormhole. As long as nobody out there is willing to invest and puts real $ into it.....

I have an Idea.
I'll write it up drop you a line.
thank you for your reply.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bitdollar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34