Is The Steem Mining Fix Working?

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

The Discovery


Yesterday I came across a great post that @picokernel shared that there was a possible fix to the Steem mining. If you are not familiar, there was some type of exploit or very intelligent programming to have the only gpu mining software to be able to dominate the mining queue. To many users on Steemit, it was a monopoly felt mining game and this is one of the things that I think would destroy Steemit. Some have suggested to remove the mining all together.

Testing


I tested the patch on Golos(the Russian Steemit) and I'm not sure if it works but, why don't you be the judge.

http://steemul.ru/witnesses/

When I got back from dinner tonight, I checked the queue and to my surprise, I see my username! I'm really hoping this is the reason why no one else has been able to mine Steem. I am trying the setup on Steem now and hopefully we all start seeing other familiar names in the mining queue.

This is less than 24hrs after setting up the miner and I am wondering maybe it was just luck? I am not completely familiar with every exact detail of the POW for the mining but maybe someone could verify weather or not this is because of the patch?

If this really is working, I think Steemit has a decent future as mining was one aspect of Steemit that had issues and needed to be addressed.

Special Thanks


Thanks to user penguins-cymbals on github that submitted the patch and to @picokernel for sharing this awesome find! I wouldn't have been able to see my name on that list without their help and of course, the one and only @contentjunkie.

Post for the patch: https://steemit.com/steem/@picokernel/we-may-have-just-fixed-a-critical-bug-in-steem


Thank you for taking the time to read my post.
Feel free to follow and find me in Smart Media Group on Discord.

Follow SMG on other social media platforms and let's Tokenize The Web!

Twitter: @the_smartmedia

Instagram: @the_smartmedia

Sort:  

No. I does not work.

yes they have GPU

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43