Sort:  

I had to sign up with enough Reddit karma so I would say no. It is possible but I think most people use their Reddit or Facebook accounts. It is probably possible to use Steemit anonymously if you know how, but generally I would say no. #JustMyOpinion

I was referring more to the cryptocurrency itself.. So for example if a user:

  1. Downloads the Steam CLI wallet
  2. Mines using his own computer some Steem
  3. Sends them to another Steem address

What are the possible differences with Bitcoin in terms of anonymity or safety? I know for example that Bitcoin has strong encryption mechanisms..

bitcoin is not anon. but neither is steem for the most part.

I just found this and at one point Ned talks about being able to anonymously mine an account into existence https://steemit.com/steem/@seb2point0/interview-with-ned-scott-steem-the-blockchain-based-social-media-platform

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60701.27
ETH 2912.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40