Sort:  

huge responsibility, i think. Every step could give live or death in terms of social networking) It is more interesting: does whales downvoted anyone? And how downvote influence at all on reward and visibility?

@usefree, @biophil, @dantheman, Does anyone know of any discussion (if there is something in the whitepaper I'll be reading it in a few hours) of how the steemit platform might become more balanced with respect to the seemingly disproportionate influence that founders and early adopters currently possess?

Is steemit designed in a way whereby someone with a lot of steem power would need to continue to make positive contributions in order to retain their influence?

I looked at Dan's wallet (https://steemit.com/@dantheman/transfers) and was wondering what balances (his steem, steem power, steem dollars, or some combination of these) resulted in my post being bumped $26. Is there a formula that can be used to calculate how much value a particular person's vote will increase a post?

In short, it's his Steem Power that did it. You should check out the whitepaper for the best description, but the very simplest basics are that it's a quadratic formula: your influence goes as your SP squared. There's quite a bit more to it than that, but that's the gist.

[This is actually a reply to biophil's post above with the whitepaper link. Steemit wasn't displaying a "Reply" link below biophil's post (a bug?) so I'm just replying to my own parent reply. Edit: I think the reason the "Reply" link was missing was because I upvoted biophil's post.]

Thanks for the link to the whitepaper @biophil, I've downloaded it and will read it in a few hours.

In reply to all of your recent comments,

I think you can only reply so many deep. I don't know why they designed it that way.

As for the issue of how to reduce the relative influence of founders and early adopters, I don't think there is an explicit mechanism for that. From what I've gathered, they're expecting it to even out organically; as more and more people come into the system, more and more SP is distributed, and the people with big balances end up wielding less relative power. I'm a bit skeptical, but I'm participating nonetheless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75