Steem apology - comprehension dawns regarding 0.8.2 & 0.8.3

in #steem8 years ago

please don't up-vote this post

I have just now had an epiphany regarding the whole 0.8.2 and 0.8.3 debate. I would like to apologise to the community and throw my full weight behind 0.8.3.

The reason is simple.....I suddenly realized/remembered that the original objective of 0.8.2 was to boost rewards for some at the expense of others. Now I thought that was a good idea at the time because I made the foolish assumption that the redistribution would be welcomed. Now I realize that I never even earned those 'rewards' and that i haven't experienced a loss and I've sacrificed nothing. So i apologize for getting confused and making a challenging task more so.

I'd like to add that I can understand why those who would have made a sacrifice to enable a broader distribution were unhappy about it. I can see now where the ideological debate was centered. This is the outcome with the highest integrity. We will have to use our innovation and ingenuity to ensure that new users understand and feel the benefit of Steem and Steemit.

Thank you to everyone who made an effort to help me think this thing through. I would have been absolutely mortified if i'd done any more to spread misunderstanding and poor information.

With the greatest sincerity,

Ben.

#steemit

#novote

Sort:  

Ya. I had the same realization last night. I was not aware 0.8.2 was a retroactive bonus and thought 0.8.3 was taking funds away from our posting account. Once I found all that out it was an easy choice for us to back 0.8.3(4). We are against any retroactive changes, especially one's that adversely affect others at our gain.

This makes sense!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17