Proposal: Allow Individual Wallet Balance Thresholds / Blacklists

in #steem6 years ago

I don't know about you, but I really hate spam. I hate it a lot and over the past year I have been a member of Steem, I've seen a bit of wallet spam (oddly enough, more lately than ever before).

As you can see in the screenshots below, the spam has mostly come from one specific user. However well intentioned, I don't like unsolicited spam that I am powerless to stop.

Screenshot_20190127-071501_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190127-071517_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190127-071532_Chrome.jpg

Screenshot_20190127-071546_Chrome.jpg

Proposed Solution

A configurable setting that allows me to specify what transactions are shown in the Steemit UI would be the most simple solution, but the transactions would still be there behind the scenes.

A more ideal solution would be the ability to completely blacklist a user, so they can't even transfer anything to you. When attempting to create a transaction it would just fail.

An intermediate solution that isn't a blacklist could even just be the ability to specify what minimum transfers you're willing to accept, a threshold value and if any transaction is below this value, it fails.

Thoughts?

Admittedly, I haven't thought through the specifics and downsides of preventing low transfer spam, but this proposal was written out of frustration and I had to pen my thoughts down.

Is this a good idea? Am I missing something here?

Sort:  

I think the whole point of the block chain is to transfer funds seamlessly and freely to who ever you want, so a blacklist goes against this.

However I really like the idea of being able to set a threshold for transactions to be shown, but only for the individual user. Transactions still need to be transparent for everyone to see, but a setting for individual users on the front end would be good

I’m not a fan of wallet spam either. But at the same time, if these people want to send me a little Steem then I don’t really care that much. It’s their loss for my gain really.

Posted using Partiko iOS

SteemPeak allows you to filter out 0.001 transactions. It is an excellent, alternate interface to the world of STEEM.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72