Hey Steemit, What's With The $0 Upvotes?

in #steem6 years ago

Look, I don't want to sound ungrateful because I appreciate all of the support that I can get on Steemit, but we really need to talk about people who upvote content but reduce their votes to such a low percentage the vote counts for $0.

What is the point of upvoting a post if you're going to diminish the value to the point its worth nothing, not even a cent?

votes.PNG

If you're a whale and a 1% vote is still a few cents, then that is understandable. But otherwise, am I missing the point here? Is there some kind of benefit to upvoting a post at such a low threshold I am not aware of?

If you're going to upvote and intentionally make your vote worth $0 please just don't upvote at all.

Sort:  

I’ve been noticing it and wondering the same thing...

Lol. Looking at the upvotes on this post, I'm seeing a lot of $0 upvotes. What the heck?

They might be using an autovoter and set the percentage when Steem and SBD were worth a lot more. Back when they set the autovote up a 2% vote might have been worth a couple of cents.

I tend to vote anywhere from 20% to 30% of my voting power, depending on how much I'm trying to conserve it. But I also manually vote on everything since I try to read/ watch as much of the content in my feed as possible.

Each to their own though.

@mazzle this is true. The price has fallen off a slight embankment lately, I can definitely see some instances where a user vote might have been worth a cent or two now is worthless.

I think voting at less than 100% is fine, I just didn't understand the motivation for users casting votes worth $0. I can understand one or two cent upvotes for users who like to upvote a lot, but it just seems pointless. Maybe people do it in hopes the author doesn't notice the value and return the favour with a profitable upvote? Fortunately, busy shows the upvote values.

The only reason I could see for people to do 0 cent upvotes is if they are then self voting a huge amount. You could always check their accounts to see if they are using most of their voting power on self votes.

I noticed it happening quite a bit recently, even by those who normally upvoted more. I believe it is a change in mindset caused by the @dustsweeper. It will force more people to have to use it, while allowing people to spread votes around at virtually no cost to themselves. I will be curious to see if dustsweeper ends up going under because of it, as I don't believe they had anticipated this action. I have been returning the favor to those doing it to me. To me, it is insane to do this. Hell, I rent delegation so I can give out more votes that are worth at least .03.

This actually makes a lot of sense. The price of Steem has dropped a bit lately, so what was once maybe a 1 cent vote is now worthless. The use of @dustsweeper is interesting, I wouldn't be surprised if something happens as a result because I definitely think they didn't foresee it happening.

I wouldn’t recommend leasing Steem power unless you are certain it returns a profit. It can be hard to return a profit without huge amounts of self votes.

Yeah, my friend told me I would have to self vote about 60% to come close to breaking even. I have been using it more for a long term game. It gives me the slider and enough SP to be able to give out .03 or greater votes which allows me to interact a lot more. I think long term it will help me not only grow my circle/community faster, but will help those who I click with grow faster as well. I have been averaging between 3-10% self voting, although I will be upping that tomorrow due to my upcoming absence.

Yep, it’s a risky move so I hope it works in your favour.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74