Sort:  

Other than the blockchain going down (oh wait, it's done that twice already), I'm not sure how it could get any worse at this point, @beeyou. I'm sorry for everyone who can no longer function much at all, let alone at the level they were accustomed to. Probably not much more to do than kick back and wait. Hopefully it doesn't take that long. I'm afraid, though, just like my foreboding before, that it's not going to shake out that much different than it already is, and if so, as @davemccoy points out in his post, the rest of the people who have been hanging on either leave or Steemit Inc. comes up with a fix.

@davemccoy says I'm enjoying this reprieve from engagement, lol. I'm doing the same amount of commenting which doesn't amount to much these days.

As like you though, I do sympathize for others that actively engage and cannot do so anymore. According to steemitblog's latest post, they will implement a patch to increase the RC by 10x so users might find themselves back to where they were.

My vote might not make it pass the dust threshold, so I will wait until VP is up before looping around to a post of yours. I told Dave the same thing. :)

No worries. During this period of time, no one has a lot of voting power, anyway. Almost didn't put out tonight's post for that reason, but since I was playing with numbers anyway, I figured I might as well.

I just read the latest steemitblog post. It should help for now, but I can't see it being a long term solution. Might as well keep bandwidth, which they certainly don't want. At any rate, I'm happy they're on it. It sounded like they were pretty worried about the exchanges. :)

Ahh, the gentlebot stopped by to show its kind support to you. Finally something right on here! :)

I would write a post, but nothing to write about, so works out I guess. I average 1-2 posts a week so it's not out of the norm either. For now, we get to enjoy the material that you and others provide for our reading pleasure. :)

A patch is exactly that..patch job. I'm not a coder but had projects go live that failed due to 'unforeseen circumstances'. The scrambling around after a failed go live result in others losing faith in the project leader. Oops, anothers yikes for Steemit Inc. Yes, sounds like business and exchanges are foremost on their mind.

I'm convinced that there's just two different realities, the one the devs occupy where they do a ton of work that no one ever sees or will appreciate because we're essentially ignorant to it—a lot like what happens with creative work, or business behind the scenes—and our world, where we have just grown accustomed to things working, and complaining when they don't because we lack the knowledge to do it ourselves.

We're both oblivious, for the most part, to what the other one wants or needs, and yet we're supposed to coexist and get along, and find a way through?!

And on that note...

How can something, as they repeatedly have said now, unforeseen if they've literally foreseen that something unforeseen is going to happen? Also, how can it be unforeseen if parts of it, which they're now calling bugs, actually does what they intentionally wanted it to do, but to ill effect?

I worked with devs too as a liaison between them and a state welfare agency getting a new computer system. They wanted to give us clean, wonderful code that never broke, but ultimately gave us nothing that we needed it to do, and we apparently wanted the entire universe when essentially we were asking for something basic, with little downtime, and the ability to right log entries and maybe keep track of documents and welfare payment amounts.

I really think they need someone at Steemit Inc who's not been staring starry eyed at C++ who speaks "normal folks" and might even know what it feels like to be the end user. Maybe. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63287.47
ETH 2569.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81