Sort:  

I saw that dip and spike when I woke up this morning, but because I saw the portion after this where it continued to rise and then dipped and spiked again, I missed how straight up the initial part of that first spike was. Holy cow! Thanks for pointing it out, or I wouldn't have seen it at all.

Its realy amazing .
It looks like ......... a ball went to the groundflor and then someone kick it at his best finally it reach to 20th flor.
Thanks for post the graph @bbrewer

Seems like someone is trying very hard to keep the price high.

Or, is someone trying their best to drive the price down? With each spike, there's been a dip, too. So, which is the real impetus of this ricocheting behavior—the bull or the bear? :)

Hard to tell. I haven't been involved enough to know which direction someone might be trying to push things. I see Steem is even higher today while SBD has dropped a bit. I wonder if this means a ddecoupling of them.

It apparently does mean that: for the moment.

We've been here before though. The difference is a little wider than normal, so maybe that means something.

Probably too early to tell.

Just read the steemitblog announcement about STEEM being on Huobi. That has apparently caused things to move a bit, since Huobi is a major exchange in China.

Could be that Steem was listed on a new exchange. It looks like it has been listed on Huobi.

I only made a guess, but getting listed on a new exchange could drive more volume, which is one thing we saw on that chart. It's hard to tell what's causing the changes sometimes. That's why there are so many people who make a bunch of money telling others what to buy/sell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61702.75
ETH 2485.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65