You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Declaration of Principles

in #steem6 years ago

Some of us can see the long-term value in powering up our account to increase our effectiveness here, but that's a sophisticated attitude,

Or as in my case the only option since I do not yet understand how to get my money into steem. A lot of that is because right now I am still unsure about investing any money in steem, and I have no reason to try and figure out how to take steem and convert it into money. (USD).

So not so much of a sophisticated attitude, as of a cautious and I don't know what I am doing yet attitude. But that does not mean I will not eventually want to learn how to invest and how to withdraw from steem. I just have not reached that trust level yet with steem and steemit.

Sort:  

It's interesting to me that you see not withdrawing as conservative. I totally understand the not investing part but you could easily choose to take your earnings out instead of powering up.

Maybe you haven't reached the trust-level to invest but you also haven't reached the anti-trust level where you don't want to stay in Steem at all.

It is a balancing act internally for me. When steem was up, the want to learn how to take out was high, but resisted. Resistance was not easy. I would honestly like to see steem and steemit do very well. While I may be missing out on a little immediate income by not learning how to withdraw and invest, as long as I remain ignorant on that part then I will continue to power up, thereby increasing any potential future pay-out.

A silly self psychological game but one that will allow potential growth. If it all crashes to zero in reality I have lost nothing because I have invested no money. I love the concept of steemit, real people rewarding people. It is a shame so many see it as nothing more than a cash machine, but I do not think they understand that investing in themselves will give them bigger rewards.

I would love to see more people look at steemit as a potential Retirement account. In five years if I can continue to keep powering up, and avoid the OMG look at all that money sitting there syndrome, I will be able to then possibly supplement my retirement income.

@nealmcspadden would tell you that most people cashing out their money frivolously with a very few hanging on to it and letting it grow is exactly what happens with retirement accounts.

A psychological game isn't silly if it prevents you from doing that.

That’s true. It’s why so many financial self help books stress mindsets and methods to pretend like your investments aren’t even there. The more conscious control you have over your money the more likely you are to spend it all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53