You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TRON vs. STEEM: Is The STEEM Community Already Speaking?

in #steem4 years ago

I think a partial problem of not all 21 is that the people don't believe either side. We have both side making demands, the witnesses will cave in on the shorter power down cycle, SMT's will cease to be a reality, and someone will try to fork the chain. Why would the witnesses cave to the shorter power down cycle you ask? Simple prior to the sell of steemit, steemit blog told those desiring the shorter power down cycle no, that it would cause to many problems with the SMT hard fork, and that after the SMT hard fork went through they might entertain and re-look at it. The desire and want for the shorter power down cycle is there, and that is what they will give Justin Sun, and then turn around and tell everyone how great they are at being witnesses for saving our block chain. Steemitblog post: https://steempeak.com/steemit/@steemitblog/steemit-power-down-proposal.

I myself do not trust either side.

Sort:  

Hey, @bashadow.

I've pretty much given it as foregone conclusion that the four week power down proposal is going to happen, now sooner than later. From what I've read elsewhere on STEEM, it would cause problems with other systems if it went below a week to say three days like Sun has asked for.

The thing is, we don't know who's left to even help the TRON engineers actually code anything. So, the fact they weren't ready with a fork when they took over (after a week of stalling) I hope means that it's a little more complicated than a couple of lines of STEEM code. :)

As far as trusting either side, I've been finding myself, with you as an exception, and maybe a handful of others, wondering why there aren't a lot more folks somewhere in the middle.

Thus, my thought that the answer lies in the witness voting. And probably the Korean voting block I'm hearing more about. :)

The witnesses took their positions in the top 21 to mean that they had a blank check to work with. I didn't give any witness a blank check, and in reality, I was only voting for a few top witnesses anyway. So, to say I can trust them with a direction at this point (when I've been told by a couple of different sources that there really hasn't been a plan beyond the softfork) is a hard thing to do.

As for Sun, he's proving the rumors about him to be true, and then some. It's becoming more and more like the cure is worse than the illness scenario. Yet, there is good that can come out of talking, even if it eventually leads nowhere as far as Sun is concerned. There are more and more people taking notice, and I'm hoping that is a good thing.

No real hard fork has gone off with out hic-ups and glitches, and with out down time, and that was with the people that built the thing working the Hard Fork. We will have to wait and see, I think it is a shame that SMT's are pretty much out the door now, but even after Justin Sun gets his funds unlocked he still owns steemit and is not likely to allow a fork that would be in completion to his coins system. I just hope one day other developers are allowed to present hard forks. We really need as a community to break the chains of centralization.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87