You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Non-Definitive Newbie Survival Guide to the STEEM Blockchain

in #steem4 years ago

It is not an easy thing to find the new struggling real user. I thought I found one, but they have not made another post, vote, or comment since I delegated 25 SP from my alternate account. I will let the SP ride til Jan, they may have lost their keys, or their phone, or could be any number of other reasons for no action since then.

Even trolling and scrolling down through the introduceyourself tag takes a long time to find someone that may be a real user. The one thing I try to tell the new users is to not vote so much on comments, find content first, build you SP then vote on comments if they are good and solid, but that a vote on a post the person made may be more valuable, to them and to the person whose comment they enjoyed. It is a very hard balance to keep and maintain while trying to get established. Especially with vote values not being very good right now.

Sort:  

If you have low SP, voting on comment is pretty much useless anyway, unless other people also vote on the same comment. Anything with a payout under 0.02 STU goes to dust anyway. So if your vote doesn't give at least that much it's just a waste of SP.

And that is what I try to tell the new users. Even right now my vote is below $0.02 so I do not vote on comments unless they already have a small vote and I can put it over the dust level. It is a difficult thing for new users to grasp, especially if they are coming from another social site that values up votes on comments and see it as a means of showing support. A vote on a post is always a better choice to show support for a new user. Leave a comment on the post and vote the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70887.21
ETH 3581.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75