You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem private keys analogy

in #steem7 years ago

Useful information. Thanks for sharing. Never realized that there were so many keys. When I opend my account here I received a password. I stored that password somewhere safe.
But I understand now that I need to store all the others keys too. Confusing, but for good reasons.

Just two questions:
Is the password I received when I opened my account at Steemit the 'owner private key'?
And how important is it to safe all the other keys if I already safe my owner key?

Sort:  

No, owner key and main password are slightly different. All keys are derived from your main password including owner key. And changing main password changes all other private and public keys. So keeping main password safe should be ok, if you loose your main password you can still change your posting and active, memo private keys with owner key. Hope it helps...

A lot! Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87