You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Another way of looking at discussion incentivization

in #steem8 years ago

Better notifications and group functionality would be much more efficient ways to create discussion.

That is exactly right. The problems with commenting/interacting are due to two main factors:

  1. A lack of users.
  2. A lack of notification/UI features.

Shifting money around isn't going to fix either issue and it won't encourage adoption/investment, especially when it comes at the expense of blog post and curation rewards. Fix the UI issues, then work on attracting/engaging more users. We don't need more tinkering with reward distributions for the 1000(?) active human users and even far fewer people who actually regularly engage and comment.

Sort:  

I agree that UI functionality would make some major improvements in engagement and the ability to create communities of interest. I would just hope that development eventually comes around to incentivising commentators at some stage.

It's on the table now because it is a backend development stage. UI development is further down the road. Not dealing with commentation rewards now might be missing an opportunity.

Well, I don't see an issue with comment rewards. I continually see plenty of comments being rewarded and lots of engagement on engaging posts. I don't think there's an issue at all with engagement or comment payouts. The only problem that I continue to see is a lack of users, which then either creates or exacerbates other problems.

They need to focus more on UI development rather than tinkering with the rewards, which is not the actual cause of the issues and complaints.

I agree. The UI is where the work should be done - I would like better notifications. Perhaps even the choice to organize the list of people you are following by most recent post (excluding a resteem) might be nice. (With a toggle between alphabetical or by most recent post sorting) I miss many posts that get overlooked in the feed from the people I like following. This could be helpful if you read something but don't remember who posted it but want to find it quickly to make a comment.

Another example is that since I'm commenting to a comment I don't think the original article writer will be notified about this comment. (Please correct me if I'm wrong) If this is the case I think this should be changed too.

Another example is that since I'm commenting to a comment I don't think the original article writer will be notified about this comment.

Yes, that's correct. Unless the comment is made as a reply directly to your blog post or comments, you won't know until you look at the comment/thread again.

Another example is that since I'm commenting to a comment I don't think the original article writer will be notified about this comment.

Yep, that sucks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53554.32
ETH 2224.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29