You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Drowningwhale - Steemit's First Downvote Bot? Not Sure I Like Where This Is Going...

in #steem7 years ago

All of the accounts sending them money recently - other than possibly “cheapwhale” - are apparently the same person/people. And all they publish is shitposts/spam. So it’s likely that @drowningwhale is also run by the same person/people.

https://steemit.com/@drowningwhale/transfers

If someone is not a fan, then they know what to do.

Sort:  

I came to similar conclusions regarding the post quality of "rgau1985", and frankly didn't find any rewards to speak of over a penny or two.

I do, however, worry just a touch about what a robotic Bernie might be like.

Thank you for stopping by.

I don’t worry about a robotic Bernie. I worry about the robotic nincompoops who upvote the same worthless users day-in and day-out...sometimes with their huge delegated stake. Kind of like what was just happening with Ned’s delegation. And what has been happening with other “popular” users for over a year now.

A robotic Bernie might actually help with some of that garbage. But @drowningwhale isn’t that, unfortunately.

"I worry about the robotic nincompoops who upvote the same worthless users day-in and day-out"

Would you say auto-voting is a net-negative for the platform? Or is the curation formula the problem?

I don't know enough to say if auto-voting can be disabled (my guess is no, not even mostly), so the only real solution would seem to be changing curation (substantially).

Dead horse, I know.

I blame the algorithm which determines value. Value is a subjective thing which should differ for each user and should not be so simple to exploit as mass votes or high SP votes. There should be far more complex subtleties in the algorithm, including logarithmic scales.

I find it highly ironic that a block chain app intended to be anti censorship has developed quite possibly the most incentivized platform for collectivization, which leads to wide spread censorship of its own curators.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47