I'm Speaking abt Steem this Week in Chiang Mai, Thailand (in front of >100 ppl!)

in #steem7 years ago (edited)

What's up everyone! Soooooo some interesting things going on right now. One I can't talk about...but i'm building an analytics app on a particular social media blockchain, but it's too early to spill this one ;)

But what I CAN mention is that I'm speaking in front of ~100 people this coming Friday in Chiang Mai, Thailand at the Nomad Coffee Club. This is one of the largest (if not THE largest) and most popular meetup in Chiang Mai. It's basically crypto central here right now. The craze is real and I'm super pumped to share my knowledge of crypto...and most importantly STEEM!!!

https://www.facebook.com/events/153400612111859/

I'll mention how you can build a community on Steem by engaging with YOUR OWN community and giving ourselves rewards. The more Steem you power-up, the more you can offer your community. Also I'm gonna let ppl know about MinnowBooster and how we can delegate SP to others, make a return and also create an opportunity for minnows to grow their community and following. MinnowBooster gets a bad rap by some, but it's a very interesting financial app on the most used blockchain....STEEM! (props to http://blocktivity.info/ for keeping it real and offering this info).

Here's a pic from the same venue a few weeks ago when I spoke on EOS, Bitshares and Steem.

And here's one from the weekly "n00b" cryptocurrency meetup where we answer all the beginning questions.

I'm out here, ppl, spreading the word abt Steem and the community that's possible to create. I can't wait to share more about both the presentation and my need blockchain project very soon...

build freedom,
Ashe


Sort:  

How is the interest from the general Thai population. I saw OMG having many things going on in Thailand. How is the climate for cryptos? Does the government has any interests in going the way of Singapore?

I'm also interested in knowing about what cryptos are popular as methods of payment among nomads. I barely know few people in real life who has any interest in cryptos. We mostly just stick with Dash (mainly because it's easy to get and I'm always preaching about it.)

I'm currently trying to get few friends into STEEM. They like reading stuff on steemit but not really interested in posting stuff. I could try preaching about Zappl but my initial experience was this: https://steemit.com/@vimukthi/my-introductory-experiences-of-zappl-the-good-the-bad-and-the-case-for-mini-blogging-with-smart-media-tokens-shortsteem

from the Thai population, it's not that great. Most ppl at these meetups are "farang" or typically ppl from Europe, AUS and the USA.

That's sad. Developing countries finally have a chance to beat the big guys like USSA and they are are not doing that. I see lots of crypto projects located in Singapore. So things must be better there. My experience is that in most developing countries, even the bankers doesn't even know a bloody thing about Bitcoin. I have a banker friend of mine and after all my efforts he is still putting most his extra money into high interest bank bonds in his bank and staying in sideline for cryptos. I didn't talk about XRP or XLM. I don't even know if he knows that those things exist.

The masses will eventually come. I'm just trying to gather up some fiat to invest before the crowds come.

Really cool idea! Since I'm starting to get my own life more involved in crypto, maybe I'll start looking for similar local groups. Makes me wonder how many people in my town are into this as well. Sound like an awesome new way to network and meet more folks with a similar mindset.

How many in your audience are 100% new to blockchain stuff?

most of my audience is already familiar with crypto. I just spoke on Friday and had a turn out of 100+. Posting pics soon and the video in a few weeks once it's done.

Cool to hear!

I find every day that I know very little so far, even after almost two months of daily researching. Part of why I like it so much is that there's so much to learn.

Learning is key.

You are doing a great job. I'm happy to be on the platform before the crowds start crawling in. That way I can build up some rep and some followers.

I really like your take on minnowbooster. I haven't put any money on STEEM. But when I do, I will definitely use the services. It seems that the bid bots actually make you loose money. I guess options are great 4 whales and
Dolphins. I'm actually called a plankton on busy.org and I saw a minnow with 62 reputation. So I can't afford 2 loose money on promotion.

BTW I see that I have a ton of bandwidth left of my 19.7MB Does anybody ever use all of that? How active does a person have 2 be to finish all that?

Anyways, Thanks 4 reading.

hey! I'm not sure how the bandwidth allocation is used. I believe it will be more clear with EOS. Thx for the thoughtful comment :)

@ashe-oro am really inspired by your creative and informative post i just started following you and am willing to learn from you thank you very much!!!!!!!!

thank you Ben! I saw that picture of your family celebrating when you made some $ on Steem. It was very inspiring :D

This is really great and I hope to get a Steemit community built in my area as well. After reading your post I remembered to check if there were any bitcoin meetups in my area (there hasn't been for the last 5 years) and to my surprise there was. So I'm going. (I didn't know there were any other bitcoiners in my area, I live in a small city)

Was there at the event and Ashe provided very good info and amazing insight , Thumb up to a rare gems in the world that is willing to share

thank you so much :)

Thanks, it will be great fun for those peoples to know this kind of great community, surely they will just love this excitng steemit platform, and i am sure they will join shortly.

oh yeah, i bet ~20 people will create an account on Steemit because of this presentation.

Ofcourse, i agree dear, and can it be availbale for ourselves, speech ?

Very good! I've still got a lot to learn and I wish I could be there for your speech myself. Sadly I'm on the wrong part of south east Asia :P good luck with your speech. Cheers!!

it will be recorded and I'll definitely post it when availalbe!

Whenever I see your work, I'll be more promising for the future of the steemit.
Thank you very much for the progress of the steemit network with your work

that great! you are inviting people to steemit community! you are the one who always support other in steemit community!
good luck! that I'm speaking in front of ~100 people this coming Friday in Chiang Mai, Thailand at the Nomad Coffee Club!
engage people in steemit community will great step by you!
good luck for your meeting in Thailand!

Your talk has been very well-versed. I'm sure many people will get acquainted with the network, and this promise is a great success.

you are welcome dear ashe-ore and best of luck for meeting !

Don't forget to mention this
DQmdur2XXhLEHAbcnjyUoqm2wYVFiEFXGAjwFiWVWPGWiuk_1680x8400.png

hell yeah. I mention it every time lol

Circle the CUI
Only 0.11% is being used and GOLOS is about to beat Bitcoin.

Thanks for pointing out just checked out Golos . Golos mcap only 30M .Steemit copy , can go 10x in future ..

Hell yeah! That's exactly the info I've been looking for, what site is that? Coinmarketcap?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83