Buying Steem is too difficult...how can it be added to more Exchanges?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

What's up everyone, how's Cryptmas? Token prices are holding up and I think the worse is behind us for a pullback. There's too many ppl looking get in to this new digital asset class. Hell, Steem's still > $3 and SBD stays around $10. Boomshakalaka.

Recently, I've wanted to buy more Steem, but have a problem.

  • Steem is only rly available on 2 exchanges. @Bittrex and @Poloniex and they are, let's say, risky, difficult to work and have pretty small withdraw limits. The spreads are pretty tight and the volume is good.

  • Volume on the Bitshares DEX is too small and the spreads are too large for BTS:Steem and Steem:BitUSD

Steem:BitUSD:

Steem:BTS

  • Shapeshift and Changelly don't support Steem. I've been told it's because of lack of volume.

What can we do? How can we get Steem on more exchanges? Fiat on-ramps will give us a much better chance of $10 Steem and could serve as a MAJOR ignition for future adoption.

Will 2018 be the year of the Decentralized Exchange? The centralized one's aren't accepting new users...

Happy Hodldays and let's have a killer 2018 in Steem!

In Liberty,
Ashe

Sort:  

btw, Steem was the #7 coin on CoinMarketCap in Dec 2016. It's currently sitting at #40.

Does anyone have a recommendation on how to sell EOS and buy STEEM?

The exchange limits suck. What if you wanted to exchange $20-50k?

for now it seems the best path is:

  • Send EOS to Binance
  • Sell EOS for BTC (booooooooooo slow and expensive)
  • Send BTC to Bittrex (because they offer 0.4 BTC withdraw per day
  • could send to Poloniex but they only offer $2000 withdraw per day unless you submit every KYC to them
  • Buy STEEM and send out

Man......i rly wish the Bitshares DEX had more volume.

BTC.... are you kidding me? Use Dash. It always gets confirmed in 15mins for me and the fee is mere cents.

well that requires another exchange commission because you can't buy Steem with Dash.

Then you'll have to use ETH which is also considerably fast and the fees are at least 20 times lower than BTC.

Bittrex doens't offer ETH/Steem pairs. You must buy Steem w/ Bitcoin over there.

the article is good. how your prediction about the 2018 steam development going forward @ashe-oro

regarding the Steem blockchain, i think it could have a bright future. We'll see what Smart Media tokens can actually do and if they catch popularity with content creators. The blockchain is fast and free to send and the user creation process is good, altho it still takes a few days to get your account approved. I believe this was gonna be fixed in HF20, but idk when that will be.

Refarding Steemit.com...i'm much less optimistic. This site is a piece of crap. I'm surprised more clones haven't been created. The user interface, attention to details, ease of use, lack of private messages and comunities and layout is just terrible. I predict that someone will build a competing service on EOS and might blow Steemit out of the water.

The Steem team has shown us in 2017 that they are NOT going to put much effort in to developing this site. If you get excited b/c there's a "night vision", then it shows the lack of experience in developing frontends.

I predict that someone will build a competing service on EOS and might blow Steemit out of the water.

I can't say amen to that enough times without copy/pasting the word for 5 mins. Have you checked out https://yoyow.org/ It uses the same tech as STEEM and the team was heavily involved in BTS and there is a person who worked on Alipay on the team too.

Still there are SMTs coming and $100 STEEM isn't impossible. My personal take is that STEEM is where BTC was 4 years ago. The silver lining is that Dash (And BTS) came out in the next year. We can expect good things.

But I was greatly disappointed (but not even slightly suprised) with all the drama regarding @haejin and the flagging wars.

I also ended up making this suggestion: https://steemit.com/steemit/@vimukthi/a-philosophical-and-economic-outlook-at-steemit-sbd-and-flagging-and-suggestions-for-a-better-future-based-on-positive

I also genuinely wish SMTs would bring great stuff like this: https://steemit.com/steemit/@vimukthi/kidsteem-a-social-media-platform-that-is-100-safe-for-kids-powered-by-smt-with-a-bit-of-inspiration-from-dash-and-dogecoin

But I'm only with steemit for the mid term.

what do you mean with "But I'm only with steemit for the mid term."?

The way that Steem was quickly mined created some whales that simply have too much power. This is unhealthy.

"But I'm only with steemit for the mid term."?

STEEM is where BTC was 4 years ago. Look how things turned out for BTC. We even have SMTs coming up. $100 STEEM isn't out of the question just as its death isn't out of the question. I was highly skeptical about steemit at the beginning and stood away for some time. I'm sticking here mainly because of the community of people like you who I'm very glad to have met. I also make some money commenting and posting while giving back my wisdom to the world.

I noticed your change in voting patterns along with the rise of certain events. I support your line of thinking. We all should get the best out while the good stuff last. A tree doesn't need a forest though the forest need trees.

Maybe TRON or YOYOW would become a place to migrate to. Maybe something totally new would come in few years. I've known and seen the terrible whale behavior since my first month on the platform. I knew this is something that cannot be fixed and bound to crash and burn. But if you wait for the perfect platform, you'll be waiting way too long.

So I'm trying to make good friends, learn, give back, earn few bucks and get off the train when the time is ripe. You don't have to love your whore to have a good time. Just stay positive and make what you can.

Good Luck!
If you find a great place with solid fundamentals with the right incentives, let us know:-)

take advantage of open windows. I took a chance buying Steem at $0.20 and have no problems reaping the reward for a good investment.

Happy for you man! I didn't initially expect you to have a great business mind. Then I remembered that Peter Schiff was impressed about you. 95% of my STEEM was made on steemit. I spent about a $100 to buy STEEM while it was cheap. But I only joined 5 months ago. I didn't even know anything beyond some stuff I had read about BTC and LTC while STEEM was $0.20

I see a potential Billionaire in you which I didn't notice at first. I can read a lot between the lines. While I was still at high school I used to call it open-encryption. Everybody sees/knows but nobody understands.

Happy investing!

I agree. Steem can work as a gateway to cryptos, by getting users in trough steemit. It really needs its own fiat exchange that is easy to use.

it's one of the few places new ppl can aquire crypto since the exchanges have banned new accounts. This is Steem's (and Bitshare's) opportunity. I hope the team is paying attn.

Totally agree. When I was a newbie the difficulty pgmf purchasing Steem was a major turn off. Hopefully that changes in 2018!

i think it will. Fiat to crypto will always be a problem. The State will ensure it.

I always use ripple to transfer between exchanges , because it is fast and super cheap compared to Btc . I would have sold Eos for btc on binance , then btc to xrp . Then send those xrp to bittrex , which would take 2 minutes . Then again xrp to btc and then Steem . This takes less time then transfer of btc and is cheap too .

i've also used Ripple, but prefer to use Bitshares or Steem when possible. Same speed and low cost and doesn't support the big banker coin.

Thank you ! i will try them . I didn't know Bts and Steem are fast too .

oh yeah, BTS and Steem are super fast. Check em out!

Only InstantSend from Dash and PIVX are faster than BTS and STEEM. But most exchanges don't allow you to send with InstantSend (except for Kraken from what I know)

Ok that's why Dash is rising .

Well there is over 10 million USD monthly budget, privacy, governance, masternodes, Massive marketing plans including Dash Aerosports and many more.

is it good time to get in it now , considering it is all time high?

Was BTC too high at $1100? Dash is the closest thing we have for a BTC-killer. Also the supply is 18 million instead of 21 million.

well i'm not too sure that's how it goes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69081.27
ETH 3757.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68