The First Principles of STEEM

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

Below is the image from my post STEEM-focused Content and The FIRST PRINCIPLES of Steem

CORRECTION: in the image below it should say:

STEEM = a DIGITAL COMMODITY that is DESIGNED to BACK a STABLE digital currency called the STEEM DOLLAR

I accidentally did not include the "Dollar" after "Steem" which is hugely important IMO. My apologies.

FullSizeRender630c0a.jpg

The reason I do not place this image in the related post is because as of now there is no way that I know of to insert this image in that post without making it the thumbnail. I would welcome a change to the platform that enabled me to determine which image or video thumbnail served as the thumbnail for the post, however as of now that functionality does not exist. If you do not find this image to be of additional value to you, then obviously do not upvote this post.

Sort:  

well, lets be clear. You could have simply linked the image in the original post. Or you could have just selected another thumbnail and put it in first. Or you could have linked it in comments.

Of course that way wouldnt have made you additional money. This is a great example of the problems with curation on this site, and the low value/no value posts that have the currency in freefall.

comment removed I was wrong

reply removed

For anyone wondering the comments which have been removed were a stellar example of me being a big douche.

i noticed the above right after i removed the comment.

I appriciate you being forthright about the matter. FWIW, i think many of the posts itt were over the line. I can see how they might color your judgement.

I made a post regarding this topic.

Beautiful. I've invited you to my group andrarchists on steemit.chat

This is the best visual. Thanks for this post I know a lot of people will benefit from this since many do not know how the monetary system and steem works. Thank you @andarchy!

An image that is wrapped into an h1-tag will become the thumbnail image of the post. So I would try to h1-tag the element that is shown as thumbnail in your previous post and then add the image of this post to it w/o an h1-tag.

Thank you for a comment that would actually solve the problem! Thanks! Though I have to say, given the rewards of this post, I now have to consider the fact that clearly this separate post did provide value to people. So now I don't know what to do! Unlike many commenting I do not believe that the majority of these votes are from bots. If that were the case then photos of my cats would do just as well. So there's something else going on here. Thanks again for the actually constructive comment!

I´m glad that I could provide some useful information. Thanks for responding.
From my perspective your recent cat post was doing extraordinary well, too! ;-)

Maybe (next time) you can put it as a comment below your post?
Or put a screenshot from the video first (so that it acts as a thumbnail) and then other images and the video itself.

Yeah that was another one I was considering. However, if the point of this game is to post content that gets a lot of votes, then the Steem system is actually telling me that keeping these posts separate is GOOD! If I believe in this system, if I believe that it is well designed to serve its function then I think it would be hypocritical to ignore the wisdom of the crowd by ignoring how much it has rewarded this post. Fingers crossed I never make a post where this is an issue again haha.

Actually I find the image much more useful to me, the the post with the video. Unfortunately I am far away from civilization right now, so I can't watch the video, and this post, as well as some comments in the post with the video provided me with enough valuable information, that I upvoted accordingly. :-)

Great to know! Glad you liked it!

great job on this one, Andrew.

I confess, at first, I thought it was going to be similar to a few of your others... though soon enough, a series of mini "ah-ha's" was triggered to yet further deepen my understanding of the whole system.

love the way you are able to break down key concepts simply and communicate straightforward to really drive home fundamental points that shed light on it all from different angles.

also appreciate your acknowledgement of the beliefs.

keep up the good work. ;-)

(comment intended for the First Principles video - mixed up these posts, crossing over on devices)

Awesome, very clever; thank you!!

All good @andrarchy I find whiteboards easier to read anyway. If you are anything like me, you probably find jotting notes quicker and easier on a whiteboard than to type it with a keyboard.

What I will say is that it's 1000x more FUN to write on a whiteboard :)

You are rather clever to load him on Imgur, and to place the reference here. You try to justify the greed with very silly arguments. You not the idiot?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56208.10
ETH 2476.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26