You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Experience: Biggest Barrier to 'Signing up Friends'

in #steem8 years ago (edited)

You are 100% correct, an engineer friend of mine said basically the same thing, and he's not exactly a luddite. Everyone who is suggesting that the public be educated or is suggesting alternate solutions obviously has no entrepreneurial experience, period. You don't blame your customer for your product being hard to use, period. You don't judge whether your product is hard to use based on your own opinion, period (not saying @dan is doing that, he acknowledges something should be done). You judge based on customer feedback. The long password is a sticking point, obviously. It didn't bother me AT ALL. I use Dashlane, I literally just banged my keyboard until I reached the magic number and then Dashlane automatically saved it for me. Telling people to use Dashlane is not a solution. Telling people to use a Word doc is not a solution. What you are telling them is that Steemit requires effort. When you do that you actually hurt the platform, not help it. Regardless of whether you know you are doing this or not. This product will not be adopted by the mainstream until this problem is resolved. Period. Thanks for posting this, I thought my experience was unique.

Sort:  

Yep, I work with Oil Traders who are reasonable tech savvy, and for some reason they hate the idea of a password that long. It's good to see @dan is open to change. The problem isn't Steemit, it more the fact that people are getting frustrated with a amount of passwords they have, the variation they are having to come up with to satisfy certain websites criteria, and Steemit's 16-character minimum is too stressful to think about.. Thanks for your contribution.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41