My steem

in #steem7 years ago

My Greetings To You!

What are you doing to me? I was late with the publication for several days... I couldn't CHOOSE! I re-read about 30 poems from the primary selection... and to exclude more than 20 excellent entries was really not easy! The theme was very interesting thanks for your thoughts and interpretations!

I am really very grateful to you all! Good luck and success to you, friends!

The theme for Steemit Poetry Contest #14 - Words

About Prizes:

First Place - 8 SBD
Second Place - 7 SBD
Third Place - 6 SBD
Fourth Place - 5 SBD
Fifth Place - 4 SBD
Sixth Place - 3 SBD
Seventh Place - 2 SBD
Eighth Place - 1 SBD

Entries will be accepted within five days from the date of publication of an announcement!
Deadline - February 9 3:00 PM UTC

The winners of the Steemit Poetry Contest #13

1st Place - "The Doll" by @alfuady

The one you love most is the last you'd suspect,
but a doll in your likeness, with pins in its neck,
tucked away in the back of a drawer in her vanity's
not a good sign: you question her sanity.

A tickle in your throat makes you cough as you look
through cupboards, closets, boxes, and books...
In the pantry: carved with strange sigils there stands
a broom, made of real wood, polished by hand,

unnoticed before. Now restless, you keep
waking only to search features softened by sleep.
One night, catlike, she'll rise with the moon
and fly to the sky on her polished wood broom!

2nd Place - "Wrong Party" by @alfuady

Some dudes prepare for clubbing with a beer
and suddenly the leader has a great idea:
“I have a plan for getting laid tonight!
We'll sneak into a lady's night!”

Instead of jeans and muscle shirts
they put on wigs and dress in skirts
and when the bouncers let them go inside
they praise themselves for being bright

they toss their wigs and put on pants
and watch the girls begin to dance
but when they see them fly around in capes
it dawns on them they made a big mistake...

3rd Place - "Everyone's a Witch" by @alfuady

When the darkness comes and the moon rises
Skeletons come out of closet and fight.
Where is the line between me and the Moses?
How is the darkness turning to light?

Words! They can tell you good night.
Or worse! They can bring out the fire and might.
Spelling - compelling my life!
I'm telling you - words are there to be right.

Write! You're a witch. You're a bright.
Trust in your self. Your body and sight.
Try! More you miss, more you smile.
Answers are here. Just stay for a while.

4th Place - "Bewitched" by @alfuady

A soothing shroud of silent, sacred night,
When sorrow sleeps and savage dreams flow true.
The sky reverberates a new star’s light,
My soul, alike, vibrates because of you.

Out of the corner of my eye, a ghost,
An evanescent shade of eerie might,
Female, enchanted spell in which I’m lost,
I, clumsy, earthly male with damn poor sight.

You laugh at me, but I’m already deaf.
I’m only a man bewitched just for love.
Your coven plays around me in alto clef,
Your dance is doom for me yet, a hell shove.

5th Place - "Dance Night" by @alfuady

We gather together every 13th
Dance in the moonlight and pray to the gods
We call those above and some from beneath
Offerings we bring to favor our odds.

Men in the village provide what we need
Then kiss us sweetly, and we're on our way
With our carriage full, pulled by the best steed
We'll see them again at the break of day.

The path is clear, blanketed in moonglow.
The ritual begins, soon in a trance
Our songs cause the trees to bend and billow
By 'morrow we know nothing but the dance.

6th Place - "My Sisters and My Daughters" by @alfuady

The foulness and the fairness of this thick and frosted night
Arouses demons, devils, dragons' fire.
My sisters and my daughters on the prowl 'til morning's light
Will follow where I wallow in the mire.

Insanity, it beckons as I seek some things for brew:
A monkey's heart, a badger's leg and fang,
A hair from a neglected child, a genius's breakthrough,
The vocal chords of birds that never sang.

So fly my coven mistresses, my sisterhood of sin,
These portions of my potion seek to find.
Then sure enough I'll conjure stuff to make me young again,
To live forever, doing deeds unkind.

7th Place - "Salem Brooms" by @alfuady

I cast a spell upon you, to draw you in to see,
Our coven here in Salem, where all we witches be,
Yes Salem town, please walk around, go get yourselves some rooms,
We'll need you here come witching hour, when we ride our Salem Brooms.

Our cauldrons have been bubbling, filled with a foul brew,
A toad, a newt, and owl's eye, it's boiling just for you,
So sit right down, don't move an inch, I promise you'll see soon,
Just why we need you here with us, when we ride our Salem Brooms.

Now take a sip, don't mind the taste, you may find it kind of nice,
The aftertaste won't linger long for our human sacrifice,
For broomsticks can't just fly alone, out of the muck and gloom,
Your blood instills a magic power upon our Salem Brooms.

8th Place - "To Put Things Straight" by @alfuady

We don‘t worship the devil
We wouldn‘t hurt a child
Not one of us is evil
Most are meek and mild

There is this picture painted
From ancient fearful men
That still has not yet fainted
Of old hags in a den

We like nature and kittens
Is that really a sin?
Some knit their own black mittens
But we all have light within

Rules of The Contest!

Only one entry is allowed.
Your entry-post must be tagged both #poetry and #alfuady
The Title must be "SteemitPoetryContest #(with the number of the actual episode)" + the name of your poem.
You can use any types of rhyme - End rhyme, Cross rhyme, Internal etc.
The size of the poem - three quatrains (one quatrain = four lines).
Do not steal! The contest is only original works!

I wish everyone good luck and creativity!

Let's make STEEMIT more interesting and varied together!

Sort:  

Congratulations @alfuady! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @alfuady! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60165.60
ETH 2421.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44