You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What if we used the SBDs created every day in the DAO to buy and burn STEEM?

in #steemlast year

The system to buy STEEM and send it to null is not something hard to code, with a very single script it can be done and could work on daily basis to avoid accumulating SBD and being misused later

Now we need a group of trusted users to hold authorities and run the bot securely👌🏻 it is a pretty good idea I think

Sort:  

Yes, pretty much what I was thinking. As far as top witnesses/trusted users, Steemchiller, Justyy, Roadofrich, xpilar.witness, upvu.witness, pennsif.witness, remlaps, rme and bangla.witness would all get my vote to be part of that team... Symbionts would not get my vote.

Thanks for the vote of confidence!

In principle, I agree with your proposal, but I have implementation concerns.

As you alluded to, my main concern definitely centers around who could be trusted to execute the transactions. Years ago, lots of people delegated funds to @sbdpotato, trusting the owner to maintain a circular set of transactions buying SBD, then converting to STEEM, then buying SBD, etc...

After the 2020 hardfork, I think the account has been using those funds for dlease rentals, instead.

Your proposal is better because it doesn't have the same permanency and the spigots can be shut off by simply removing a proposal vote, but I'd still want to see it done through the use of tools like Smart Contracts or a multisig wallet with signers who have diverse interests.

Also, I have a feeling that the price of SBD would drop to $1 pretty quick when the market learned that the initiative is being implemented.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05