You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Witness (Circle Jerk) n-Person Prisoner's Dilemma, and the richlist Witness Votes - Some solid numbers for you to digest

in #steem7 years ago

Pretty sure there is a giant circle jerk at the top of the witness chain. I'm just not sure it's nefarious yet. Most of the top folks have been working on projects for about a year together at the least, and many started from the BTS days. I've found it pretty hard to break into the crew, but I'm also an asshat at times so I think I'm to blame for that. So, yeah, the network of people all keep a close circle, but I kinda think they're doing it to keep the best interests of the community around. They don't just automatically jump on any witness, but timcliff and someguy are both outsiders to the BTS crew. So, they do let folks in.
Many countries are repsented in there.
IDK. I think it's more of an autoimmune precaution than a full on circle jerk and I say that from a perspective of currently being excluded by the majority of the people you're listing.
Also, I self vote. I did it initially to make sure I could even find a block. I've never thought to remove it. I think I'm a pretty good backup witness. So, why would I not vote for myself. I have pricinciples of Peace, Abundance, and Liberty and I think I uphold them pretty well. Also, it's my stake so "get off my lawn" as it were. IDK, the self voting doesn't bug me. The cirlce jerk is an annoyance, but for now I still think it's more healthy than not as long as they keep allowing people into it that do good work and help this platform.

$0.02

Aggroed.

PS nice article. neat info. I don't think it's all nefarious, but leave space to believe that it could be.

Sort:  

I simply think that the parameters of the game make it corrupt itself. That's neither of the two options you have considered.

Wow, a whole two. And you are saying this is the old-boys of BTS? nice. And that's ok?

I've determined that I simply need to close my eyes to this. Complacency and self satisfaction, like Nietszche's fable of the camel, the lion and the dancing child. Time for me to cast off the angry lion suit and pick up the flute.

They cannot be persuaded to see themselves as othters see their stink.

Well, you are using words like corrupt and stink.

I think perception matters. Do I think they have rigged the game. Yes. Is it truly corruption... meh, I don't think so. The game may not be fair, but I dont' think it's a matter of capturing that wealth just for themselves so much as making sure dickwads don't get access to the keys to change whatever about the chain whenever. But I'm sitting on a mole hill and they're still up in the stars. So, what do i know?

I htink it's good to ask questions. I think it's probably not in your best interest to lob accusations.

clearly the rot has already started to set into your brain as well because that is an incredible bit of double think you got goin on there.

William S Burroughs little proverb is my guide in this matter now:

“Do not proffer sympathy to the mentally ill; it is a bottomless pit. Tell them firmly, “I am not paid to listen to this drivel — you are a terminal fool!” Otherwise, they make you as crazy as they are.”

I'm not sure I've seen your alternative. Color me interested.

@aggroed I think it is time you define fairness. Because for me it's really about win-win for the most people. Skewed income percentiles we know very well from our society and I would not like to see them here but reading your posts it seems they are here as well. I agree with @elfspice (so many great people here!)

I simply think that the parameters of the game make it corrupt itself.

That's exactly what I think as well.

Besides barring that the barrier to entry is not too big, what holds other people from becoming a witness and vote for them?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59471.57
ETH 2618.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40