How to get more readers on your steem posts

in #steem5 years ago

How to get more readers on your steem posts.png
source: pixabay

This is the first article in a series in which I will share the knowledge that I collected about steem.

For a certain time I haven't written any posts on steem but this doesn't mean that I've been idle. I've tried and tested most of the games available on the steem blockchain and worked on some other steem related projects like my own HVOTE token.

To understand the readers, you need to become one

But above anything else these last weeks, I've taken the role of the active reader of articles posted on steem. I focused my attention on the people that I'm following. There are not so many but most of them are writing good content and I read the things that seem interesting. Most of the time I also left a comment and tried to push the interaction with the author.

The problem of steem: not enough readers

I believe that one major problem about steem is that most of the newbies believe that they have to post content in order to earn money. So they write a couple of posts that tend to have zero value. It is not surprising that many of them give up after that. There are so many posts that are simply not read by humans that I can't help to think that there are not enough readers on the blockchain.

During my self experiment I made an important discovery:

When I take the time to read a post, to upvote it and to give a comment, I expect something in return!

The minimum would be an answer to my comment but I felt that when I didn't get an upvote it was not enough. Just following my guts I ended up reading and commenting only the posts of the people where I was sure that my comments would be answered and upvoted.

Reward your readers

To get more readers we have to reward their time and interest with answers and upvotes. If you have not enough steem power to give significant upvotes it doesn't matter. It is the intention that counts. Another way to reward your readers is to put a steem bounty on your post, like that you can give an additional value to your upvotes.

Stand out from the crowd !

There is so much content on steem that we simply cannot cope with everything. We need to filter the information and in the end we will need to focus our attention on posts where not only our interest is caught but where we also can expect a financial return. In the end most of the people are also on steem to earn some coins...

When rewarding your readers it is much easier to build up a long term relationship with them. The fact that you reward your readers will be news that spread quite quickly over the blockchain and you might get even new readers like that. More readers means more traffic and this means more comments, resteems and upvotes...

What do you think about that? How do you feel when you read, comment a post and don't get any answer?


  • This post is optimized so that curation rewards are maximized for the people upvoting it. Self-vote after 1 day. Upvoted by bots after 1 day.

  • I reward my readers: Every meaningful and related comment will be answered and upvoted. Please be patient, my time on steem is limited ;-)


My projects:
@help.venezuela : a program that supports steem users from Venezuela.

HVOTE : A token that is underlined with a real steem account. With the sales of tokens, the Steem Power of the account is increased. The votes are sold on smartsteem and together with curation rewards, the account produces real economical value. Big token holders get upvotes from the account.
Ref-Hunters : Cryptocurrency faucets. Get free coins every hour.

Sort:  

Hi dear @achim03.

I just checked your account again and it seem that you're not active on Steemit any more. Hope you didn't give up on this platform and our little community. And hope you're well.

I hope you come back soon!!

Yours, Piotr

Hi Piotr,
I had a lot to do lately and couldn't spend much time on steem. In addition I tend to use my time playing games at the moment... I need some distraction I believe ;-). I'm trying to leave some comments all the same from time to time.

Best regards,
Achim

Playing games? :)

Yes, I like to play Steemmonsters. I make quite an income with it ;-). Check out my stats...

!bookkeeping Steemmonsters

Hi @achim03!

steemmonsters

Received:

  • 592.453 STEEM
  • 1.576 STEEM from Affiliate
  • 13.850 STEEM from tournament prizes
  • 226.456 vested STEEM
  • 32.376 SBD
  • 0.000 SBD from Affiliate

Spent:

  • 250.629 STEEM
  • 2.000 STEEM for tournament entry fees
  • 25.382 SBD

Total:

  • 581.706 STEEM
  • 6.994 SBD

Dear @achim03

Another great publication buddy, absolutely worth reading.

The problem of steem: not enough readers

This problem of lack of readers could be solved directly by authors. Curators would like to be either appreciated or rewarded for their comments. And I realized a while ago how using @steem-bounty can help to achieve that goal.

I believe that one major problem about steem is that most of the newbies believe that they have to post content in order to earn money

That's very true. Steemit is still attracting mostly "wrong type of new users". Mostly because current ones (power users) are often promoting Steemit as a platform where you can make money.

Again excellent publication. STEEM-BOUNTY is definetly way to go. Not only it does allow to reward your curators but also it's an amazing tool giving us extra exposure. There is way more people checking https://steem-bounty.com/ than those who care about trending page.

ps. I hope you don't mind that I will promote this post tomorrow. I would love others to be able to read your suggestions.

Yours
Piotr

Hi @crypto.piotr,
Thank you my friend for this great comment! I hope you can use steemit again?

I believe that the problem is that the new users on steem all start by posting their posts. They get quickly disapointed. It's like posting on facebook without having any friends. Nobody will read their posts. It would be important to introduce new people to steem as follows:

  • start by selecting a couple of quality authors with good SP and follow them
  • read their posts and give appropriate comments
  • build relationships with the people they comment
    -> They could actually collect more steem like that than by writing their own posts by the way.
  • little by little start to write their own posts

I imagine that if people started this way on steem, they would stay longer because it would be an organic growth and newbies would learn much more from existing authors.

P.s: You can gladly promote my post my friend :-)

Best regards,

Yes.... Poor design. You could guide new steemians into that, choose some topics and the site should show you a selection page to follow some good content creators. Because if not is a very random experience.

And again yes, people thinks that Steem is a get rich quick scheme and is not that, it can be if you know how to get it fast, but no that easy, and not rich but can generate a good income and most important valuable connections.

Thank you for your comment. I believe that this would be an interesting idea to lead people by the hand and provide them a step by step introduction to steem. On the other hand the problem would be to provide a good motivation for them to follow this. To attract people to steem the get rich quick scheme seems to be the only working.

I believe to get rich on steem you need to be rich already ;-)

I believe to get rich on steem you need to be rich already ;-)

I know a few around here that changed their way of life just because being here from the begining and coming from Bitcoin and Etherium. So, I think it's possible to make a million here, but you have to be smart and know how to play with cryptos, selling high, buying dip, etc.

Steem needs people like Reddit at first, dreamers and developers that can stand in the shoulders of giants and see to the future.

I love how responsive you are @hijosdelhombre :)

Seriously, this platform needs more people like yourself.

cheers, Piotr

Thanks for your kind words.

This is a community, we care for each other, something almost forgotten in the neoliberalism we live worldwide today.

We can't lose what makes us humans, the most important thing that helped us to get where we are now, colaboration between different cultures to bring progress. This place and other crypto projects are the best way to fight the facism the establishment want to bring again to make us fight each other.

Steem grabs this humanist concepts and applies them in such a beautiful way.

Love your comment buddy :)

Thanks @hijosdelhombre for being always so responsive

Yours, Piotr

Dear achim03

Thank you my friend for this great comment! I hope you can use steemit again?

Juan suggested installing brave browser and it solved problem. But whenever Im trying to use firefox or chrome - I always see some error messages whenever I try to post a comment :/

It's like posting on facebook without having any friends. Nobody will read their posts.

Indeed. Somehow people expect that others will find it and they blame Steemit fully for not having any visibility. I don't know where does this mindset comes from.

I still see people claiming that the most important is to post a lot. Even every day. Almost like posting a lot would be solution that could help with lack of traffic.

ps.
@Juanmolina helped to boost your publication :)

Yours
Piotr

Hello my friend,
I also une brave. Maybe you could try to erase all cookies on chrome and then log in again. I has some trouble with apps as well. I then erased all cookies, logged out and logged in again. Now it works.

I still see people claiming that the most important is to post a lot. Even every day. Almost like posting a lot would be solution that could help with lack of traffic.

This is also what amazes me. I believe that these people read a book about how to become an influencer or how to have success on facebook or instagram. On steem it doesn't work like that.

People who post too often will have much more difficulties to get automated upvotes. If you put an auto upvote on somebody who posts 3 times a day this will drain your voting power.

A bit thanks to @juanmolina for the boost!

Best regards,
Achim

Might be a steem-bounty helps to attract readers, but do you know it's only 2 days ago I found out that it exists? I am joining over 1 year now!

That's what I love about steem. You discover new stuff every day ;-)

I think a major problem about steem is that most newbies believe they have to publish content to make money.

It is true. For most people who open an account in steemit, their first motivation is to achieve an income.
A distorted expectation has been created in this regard. At the end of 2017 - beginning of 2018 when the STEEM / SBD reached their historical highs in Venezuela very few people knew Steemit. Presumably the news ran fast and then began to enter new users. Of this wave of novices, currently there should not be even half.

Disappointed by the low income they left the platform. Currently there must be a high number of dead accounts.

Another way to reward your readers is to put a steem bounty on your post, like that you can give an additional value to your upvotes.

Actually it works, you're absolutely right. But if we talk about that mass of new users who are more interested in getting at least a few cents per publication, then this is not an option for them.

In summary, the only valid option is to take care of our followers by giving them the treatment they deserve. As you say, responding to all your comments.
I see it as an act of strengthening a friendship.

Thank you appreciated @achim03.
I enjoyed this publication very much.

Everything you said is true.

The most important thing here is not the money, the most valuable thing from Steem is the connections the platform try to make in order to change reallity faster than with normal means we have available today, I mean, like democracy is full of bureaucracy and slow solutions from politicians.

Witness and everything behind the frontend is really interesting as an experiment trying to bring answers and better aproach of the social problems as a community, all together, unite instead of divide, positive circles.

Greetings friend, @hijosdelhombre.

I'm glad we share the same criteria.

The connections between human beings. The exchange of thoughts, of ideas, of cultures. That's what really is important.

As you say it is like an interesting experiment of global magnitude, because here in Steemit there are no borders.

Hi @juanmolina,
Thanks a lot for this detailled comment

Actually it works, you're absolutely right. But if we talk about that mass of new users who are more interested in getting at least a few cents per publication, then this is not an option for them.

I agree with you that for new users steem bounty is not the solutions also because they probably don't have a couple of steem around. I believe that new users shouldn't post too often to start with. They should build up relationships first by commenting other poeple's post. If done well, they can earn much more than by publishing their own posts that only few will read.

I see it as an act of strengthening a friendship.

This is totally true. The value of friendships is however often forgotten or ignored. When on steem we are more than just people interested in money and that values like frienship take a bigger importance, we can become an expemple for a new set of values on the internet...

I just realized than you promoted this post big style. Thank you very much for it! I appreciate it a lot but I feel its not really fair that you have all the expenses ;-) A memo will come around soon...

You would not have bothered, dear friend.

Thanks for writing your views and letting the community here know on tips for getting more readers.
I somewhat feel as well that many people just follow or upvote other users so as to earn curation rewards by upvoting their content in a timely manner. But, community should be more interested in reading the content and actually upvoting the users who have written something thoughtful and spent time writing and researching.

Thank you very much for your comment. I believe that many people tend to do everything in order to optimize their income in the short term. They place their upvotes so that they get as much curation rewards as possible. Many however forget that you also get curation rewards when you upvote comments! Maybe you earn not as much as when you sell your votes but in the end the amazing thing about steem isn't the fact that you can earn money but the fact that you can create relationships with people that have a certain potential value.

When I take the time to read a post, to upvote it and to give a comment, I expect something in return!

For the last months I had the same discussion with a user I'm not tagging now to keep him from asking again "I have come here, now where's my reward?" just like he did yesterday.
My point rather is: tell the people not to come here for the money. But this idea is also fueled by the observation that Steemit attracts a special kind of people.

I think that everybody on steem should avoid to "expect" to be rewarded either for writing or reading. If you take the perspective of the author who wants to build up interaction, I think rewarding the readers that contribute quality comments is a good way to do so.

Loading...

@achimov03
Es muy interesante tu publicación, con las publicaciones que provienen de la experiencia personal en Steemit. Algunas de ellas tambiénn yo las he observado.
Particularmente me parece muy importante rtesponder los comentarios, al igual que responder los comentarios.
Es como elemental cortesía, si a uno lo saludan, uno debe devolver el saludo.
Pero, efectivamente, el voting power asi como los Rc, pone límites que impiden comentar y votar todo cuanto se quisiera.

English /Translator
Your publication is very interesting, with the publications that come from personal experience in Steemit. Some of them I have also observed.
In particular, I think it is very important to comment on the comments, as well as to respond to the comments.
It is like elementary courtesy, if one is greeted, one should return the greeting.
But, effectively, the voting power as well as the Rc, puts limits that prevent comment and vote as much as you would like.

Thank you very much for your comment. I hope you don't mind if I answer in English.
It is true that for accounts with little RC it is difficult to write many comments and give upvotes. For people starting on this platform I believe it would be good advice to start by following certain experienced authors and leave a comment from time to time. If these authors in return upvote the comments, these newbies might get more SP than if they wrote their own posts. Like that they can power up, collect more RC and little by little become a more active member on the platform.

Hello @achimo03, This is a valuable post on bringing engagements on our contents. We understand that those who have low SP cannot do much on commenting but can give an upvote. What I am doing is that everytime someone upvoted my post, I do my best to reciprocate with an upvote and comment if possible. Yes, reward is the best way to bring engagements with our contents. Of course we get rid of spam. Thanks for @juanmolina for bringing me with your post. I appreciate your support sir.

Thank you very much for your comment.
Low SP and accordingly low RC can prevent people from leaving many comments. This is an additional reason for autors to upvote such comments. It's one of the best ways for small accounts to grow. When autors with some SP upvote comments they get real value and often people can earn more like that than if they post their own articles.

Consistency is also important ..... and by consistency I don't mean subject wise but the timing of your posts. Post daily / every second day and keep pushing forward for a better chance to get notice.

Hi @rentmoney,
Thanks a lot for your comment. Consistency is an important factor. However I've seen a lot of users who tend to write posts with doubteful content just for the sake of consistency. I believe that it is important to write regularly but too often can also be contraproductive...

Hello @achim03 you got your idea spot on! We would be having more interactions and engagement on posts if readers are rewarded.

As a matter of fact, I visited this post as a result of searching through posts with bounty because these sets of posts are very engaging and above all, rewarding :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @akomoajong,
Thank you very much for stopping by. I'm happy the bounty attracted you ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62663.38
ETH 2445.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67