Steem tales - welcome investors, old and new

in #steem6 years ago

I got a great price for the STEEM I bought back in May 2017. Who's buying this week? I hope you have the same feeling in a years time.

IMG_0782.JPG


I'd never bought any crypto before, and I almost gave up back then when this strange phone application wanted to verify me with a phone/video call. STEEM was 20/30 cents then, but the call didn't work and I gave up until finding Coinbase a week or two later. STEEM had moved to 50/60 cents by that point, but I managed to buy a little via Coinbase and @blocktrades and of course, powered it up.

Not too long after that, I bought a little more, and a little more, and then STEEM took off to $1.80. Everything I had was powered up, but that didn't worry me because I had no plans to cash-out. Then the price fell and fluctuated around a dollar. I remember the price being pretty 'bouncy', and I bought a few more times when it dipped under the dollar - this happened for most of the 2nd half of the year, but as Bitcoin was rising and the other alts too, I was pretty hopeful that STEEM would have it's day.

And STEEM definitely had its day (and month) in January this year.

As an aside, I notice that a fair few of the people that interact with me have accounts dating back to the start of the year. I'm glad you guys haven't thrown in the towel following this year long downward trend. Respect!


Buy/Sell/Hold/Go for a walk

This week has been particularly rough for crypto investors though, and so I decided to take a walk today and do other things away from the space. The photo above is the beach at the bottom of the road. There are no lifeguards this time of year, but the SOS sign is there for all to see. Did it remind me of 'here'? Yup!

Anyway, the STEEM I bought, and the STEEM I have earned through blogging/vlogging and the like, has almost all been powered up. I took some SBD off the table in at the start of the year, and have only been selling small chunks of both intermittently - in cases where I've felt like something other than pasta pesto for tea. This powered up STEEM has been used to vote the content I like, and the people that have shown me something of value. Steem Power also works as a magnet, attracting curation rewards and reciprocal voters, and these are the reasons that I think I have gotten great value from my STEEM (Power), even though the price is 10/20 cents lower than my lowest buy.

This is what I like about Steem Power, it's still working for you even though the price is falling - I hold a couple of stocks at a sizable loss and they are doing nothing for me!

A few people have contacted me in the last few days staying they've bought 'some', and I know @exyle is buying a little each day - sticking to his policy of smaller buys which mitigates risk somewhat. A lot of people have been converting SBD to STEEM too, and at around 1 SBD to 2 STEEM, why the hell not! I'm low on SBD and so that's not really been an option, the fridge is full for the week though and so that's good enough for me.

It pleases me to find out that people are investing in Steem, and to those who are in a position to buy or convert SBD/STEEM, I wish you well, and I hope your investment starts paying dividends soon - 'cause that will mean my investment is too :)

Let me know if you've been buying today, so I can spy on your wallet give you a little up-vote of appreciation - good luck!

Cheers

Asher

Sort:  

I have bought some Steem today and used it to become a dolphin! 😉 Yay! I calculated it wrongly and got more than expected. What a lovely surprise! 😂 Have a lovely evening Asher!

So jealous! Good job though. :)

Yeah for sure, I've not got two beans to rub together - I wonder if the magic happens with lentils too...

Oh wow!!!

So awesome to hear this, well done! I really hope you've caught the low, and if not, just keep on Steeming and it wont matter.

Have a lovely day/evening too!

You are a dolphin now? Wow!!

Posted using Partiko Android

nicely done (-:

Wowo...so you got a new tag now...."Dolphin Comment Queeny" it is best time to own more steem now......wish to see it climbing up fast...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats, @delishtreats. It happened to me by accident too, lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sadly, I can't afford anymore this year (not that I bought a lot, but it sure would have bought a lot more now, lol). I don't track crypto prices and just learned how hard it had fallen from another post. I think if people track it constantly they will drive themselves crazy. I think of mine as more of a retirement plan (if it gains market dominance to any degree), so focus more on the community and using it to share things of interest to me while thanking others who do the same with things that interest me.

I am one of those who joined in February, and as I mentioned elsewhere, if this all collapses to nothing I have blown way more than the 420.00 I spent buying Steem without ever batting an eye. It's a gamble that even if it goes to nothing was still of value for those i have been able to gift to, and the knowledge gained and nice people I have met.

You were one of my early heroes here, and it is inspiring to see those like yourself with some sizable stake not panicking at losing 90% of your value in the last 5 months. Thank you.

No need to be sorry, I can't afford any either.

I've tried withdraw as little as possible, but need the SBDs for food n bills. Ahh, part of the new year joiners. I'm not sure I would have been able to stick it out, all you guys have seen is a downward trend.

Hopefully it will turn around, and wouldn't it be nice to just be stumbling across Steem now :)

Thanks for the kind comments!

Hi asher. Really hoping for some extra funds soon so I can take advantage of this. It may just be more of the same slog though. Happy to see lots of people doing it though.

Yeah me too! Plenty of buyers cropping up, hopefully the tide will turn soon (after you've bought :) )

I came with nothing and anything I have gained is a bonus. I'll be here til the end of time.

Powering up all I can.

!tip

I like your style, and thanks for the tip!

The pleasure is mine, I can assure you.

Hodling is a way of life. I'd hodl till steem hits $10 :D
There is blood on the streets of crypto, but I think it can only last as long as the resolve of some of the community who refuse to panic sell but rather to acquire cheap coins. As usual there is a disclaimer here: I'm not a financial adviser. Cheers everyone.

I like that thought :D

Yeah I'm no F.A. either, but I think this is a time to at least grab a little if you are on the sidelines. Good luck 10$ STEEEEEM!

I think so too, if you've got a spare fiat. Some of us only have cryptocurrency. That means we are in it for the long run :D

Is the Coinbase to Blocktrades the easiest way to go USD to Steem? I'd love to buy some but actually haven't figured out a clean way to do it...

Easiest, but likely not the cheapest. I still use Coinbase, but go via the exchanges most of the time these days.

Cheapest is probably to deposit from your card to an exchange - I've only done this with Kraken and the fees were very low.

Thanks 'Take your hoodie off' Asher!

I've got Bittrex and Coinbase... but I need to muck around with all their ID checking... at the moment my megre crypto is trapped on both platforms until I jump through their hoops.

You can deposit directly to kraken for free. I normally buy ripple and move it to bittrex from there. Kraken is ok for the main crypto's but doesn't have STEEM unfortunately. Cheap option though.

I didn't know that... it really might be worth me getting a Kraken account... the fees that Coinbase and Monaco charge are pretty upsetting.

All I do is use a bank transfer straight to the exchange. They have a euro to xrp market and then I do what I want with it from there.

Posted using Partiko Android

I use coinbase to blocktrades, yes, the execution has been a half-hour or less lately, working nicely I'd say

Thanks for that... guess I do need to sort out my coinbase ID situation then...

Let me know if you've been buying today, so I can spy on your wallet give you a little up-vote of appreciation

Did the big one today, if Coinbase didn't restrict me so much I would have got some more. I hope I'm not losing my mind doing this... tell me I'm not.

Well I'm not a financial adviser, but I would be doing the same as you if I could :) Good luck buddy!

I have been buying little chunks here and there since I joined recently. The price keeps dropping and in spite of myself, I buy more. Just today, for example, I squeezed out a little money from the budget.

I like this approach best, good luck to you sir!

converted few sbd to steem ...few days ago...pumping up steem power...but today with the dropping price it is good time to invest...steem on👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Yup yup. My sentiments exactly. I got in “late” when compared to you. I popped in in March/April of 2018 and bought in around 3 bucks initially. Yikes!!! But I’ve been buying in chunks all the way down. While I’m technically down in my investment, I feel the same...that’s it’s working for me here and basically paying dividends as long as I work at it. I’ve added 1000 in the past few days and will be adding a bit more tomorrow. Gonna keep on doing this while it’s low. Gotta roll the dice sometimes in life but I feel like It’s the right play. Cheers brother!

Gotta roll the dice sometimes in life but I feel like It’s the right play.

Yeah, pretty much what I've done too here. Come on snake eyes!

9E9CD566-2A59-4E92-8808-E23E02F99690.gif

It worked!!!!! Wanna party hard core this coming week?!?

363B8074-F021-45B2-964D-16BF21611FE5.jpeg

Drinks on you!!

Smokes on me! 😂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49